ASD Libraries: Race, Culture, & Human Rights: 1.8 Intro Research Summative

Neurodivergent

Ability and Neurodiversity
"Ability and Neurodiversity terms to broaden your understanding of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion"
Neurodivergence at a Glance
from The Inclusive Workplace Series
How to remove prejudice against neurodiversity from the workplace
Neurodiversity needs to be better understood in order to remove "persistent prejudices" from the workplace, a study has claimed.

Social Class

The psychology of social class: How socioeconomic status impacts thought, feelings, and behaviour
"Drawing on recent research on the psychology of social class, I argue that the material conditions in which people grow up and live have a lasting impact on their personal and social identities and that this influences both the way they think and feel about their social environment and key aspects of their social behaviour."
Should class be protected under law?
"a change in law could help reduce inequalities and improve social mobility"
Anti-discrimination laws and policies
The UAE has several laws that aim to prohibit discrimination and hatred on the basis of caste, race, religion and ethnic origin. Further, there are laws to protect the rights of people of determination (those with special needs), and laws for women's rights to equal pay as men.
The Class Ceiling: Tackling Class Discrimination in Recruitment
"One form of inequality that is becoming increasingly conspicuous by its absence is social class discrimination or “classism”."

Gender

Sex-Based Discrimination
"Sex discrimination involves treating someone (an applicant or employee) unfavorably because of that person's sex, including the person's sexual orientation, gender identity, or pregnancy."
Gender equality in the workplace
"The Labour Law provides that female workers shall be granted the same wage as male workers, for performing the same work as the male workers."
Legislation and Gender
"The Constitution of the UAE ensured women rights and enshrined the principle of equality between men and women in line with their respective natures, upholding their access to education, jobs, social and health benefits, and holding government offices."
Women and Gender in Public Policy
"Federal agencies could more effectively design, implement, and evaluate programs and policies to help address such issues. "

Age

Age Discrimination
"Age discrimination involves treating an applicant or employee less favorably because of his or her age."
Age Discrimination
"The Age Discrimination Act of 1975 prohibits discrimination on the basis of age in programs and activities receiving federal financial assistance."
Ageism / Age Discrimination
This guide is designed to support academic and personal research on the topic of age discrimination, and of multi-disciplinary approaches to promoting inclusive practices and equity for people of all ages.

Citizenship

Information for Employers About Citizenship Status Discrimination
"Under federal law, employers generally cannot make hiring, firing, or
recruitment or referral decisions based on a worker’s citizenship status."
Race, Ethnicity, or National Origin-Based Discrimination
"Learn more here about your right to be free from discrimination based on race, ethnicity, or national origin, and how the law protects you."
Unveiling claims of discrimination based on nationality in the context of occupation under international humanitarian and human rights law
"This article examines international humanitarian law (IHL) and human rights guarantees of equality and non-discrimination applicable to cases of belligerent occupation."

Disability

Anti-discrimination laws and policies
The UAE has several laws that aim to prohibit discrimination and hatred on the basis of caste, race, religion and ethnic origin. Further, there are laws to protect the rights of people of determination (those with special needs), and laws for women's rights to equal pay as men.
Employment Laws: Disability & Discrimination
"There are five important federal laws that protect individuals with disabilities from discrimination in employment and the job application process."
Ableism
From the BU Antiracism center

Religion

Religious Discrimination
"Religious discrimination involves treating a person (an applicant or employee) unfavorably because of his or her religious beliefs."
Combating Religious Discrimination
"This document explains federal civil rights laws prohibiting
religious discrimination and provides examples of conduct that
may be a violation of your civil rights."
Peer religious discrimination harms mental health more than exclusionary organizational policies
"Religious discrimination from one’s peers has a far greater impact on an individual’s mental health than exclusionary organizational policies, according to a new study."

Sexuality

Sexual Orientation and Gender Identity (SOGI) Discrimination
"In Bostock v. Clayton County, Georgia, No. 17-1618 (S. Ct. June 15, 2020),[1] the Supreme Court held that firing individuals because of their sexual orientation or transgender status violates Title VII’s prohibition on discrimination because of sex."
Discrimination because of sexual orientation
"Discrimination because of sexual orientation is when you are treated unfairly because of your sexual orientation."
Sexual Orientation and Gender Identity Discrimination
From the US Department of Labor

Body Size

Obesity Stigma: Important Considerations for Public Health
"Stigma and discrimination toward obese persons are pervasive and pose numerous consequences for their psychological and physical health."
Fat-shaming is as disgusting as any other prejudice
"No one would tell an anorexic to get a grip and eat more, so why tell the helpless overweight to eat less?"
Weight Discrimination in the Workplace
"Weight-based stigma is on the rise. "

Mental Health

Understanding the impact of stigma on people with mental illness
"Many people with serious mental illness are challenged doubly. On one hand, they struggle with the symptoms and disabilities that result from the disease. On the other, they are challenged by the stereotypes and prejudice that result from misconceptions about mental illness."
Stigma, Prejudice and Discrimination Against People with Mental Illness
" . . . stigma, prejudice and discrimination against people with mental illness are still very much a problem."
Ending Discrimination Against People with Mental and Substance Use Disorders: The Evidence for Stigma Change.
"To inform future anti-stigma efforts in the United States, this report describes the changes needed to improve the lives of people with mental and substance use disorders and reviews the current evidence on effective stigma change strategies."

Racism within the Middle East

Look at the next tab on this Libguide. There's a whole page dedicated to this topic.

Regional Racism within the Middle East

Noodletools

Noodletools This link opens in a new window
NoodleTools is an online research management platform that helps you evaluate information, build accurate citations, archive source material, take notes, outline topics, and prepare to write. Sign in with Google.

Noodletools Help
This guide will answer all of your questions about how to use Noodletools.

Suggested Subscription Databases

A to Z Databases
This link will take you to all of the databases that the ASD libraries subscribe to. For login information, see the secure document below.
ASD Databases Login Information
You must be signed in to your ASD account to view these passwords.

These databases are listed in the order of usefulness for this assignment. Start at the top!

Global Issues This link opens in a new window
Provides a global perspective, integrating news, global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics, and more. Citations export directly into Noodletools.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Find overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of today's important social issues. Citations export directly into Noodletools.
Issues and Controversies in History This link opens in a new window
Use primary sources to analyze great conflicts in U.S. and world history. Citations export directly to Noodletools. Sign on with Google SSO
Modern World History This link opens in a new window
Offers a comprehensive look at world history from the mid-15th century to the present. Citations export directly into Noodletools. Sign in with Google SSO.
Proquest This link opens in a new window
A large, multi-subject database. Citations export directly into Noodletools.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. Citations export directly to Noodletools.

Search for Books

Destiny Library Catalog
Look for library books related to your topic. When you get to the catalog, don't forget to sign in!
Sora
Follow this link or download the SoraApp to access the library's ebook collection. Sign in with Google.