ASD Libraries: Race, Culture, & Human Rights: Unit 2: Voting Rights

Search for Books

Destiny Library Catalog
Look for library books related to your topic. When you get to the catalog, don't forget to sign in!
Sora
Follow this link or download the SoraApp to access the library's ebook collection. Sign in with Google.

Voting Rights

Voter Restrictions

Racial backlash drives restrictive voting laws, study finds
Published by Facing South, the online magazine of the Institute for Southern Studies (August 2022).
Patterns in the Introduction and Passage of Restrictive Voting Bills are Best Explained by Race
From the Brennan Center for Justice (August 2022)

A Dead-Simple Algorithm Reveals the True Toll of Voter ID Laws
From Wired. Published in 2018.
Voter Identification Requirements | Voter ID Laws
This page includes an interactive map where you can learn about voter ID laws by state. From the National Conference of State Legislators. Published in 2021.
Voter ID Laws Protect the Integrity of Our Democracy
A PRO article from US News and World Report in 2012.
OPPOSE VOTER ID LEGISLATION - FACT SHEET
A CON article from the American Civil Liberties Union.
VOTER ID 101: THE RIGHT TO VOTE SHOULDN'T COME WITH BARRIERS
From Indivisible.
Voter ID: A Debate - Podcast
From the Federalist Society in 2016.
The Right to Vote in an Age of Discontent
From the American Bar Association in 2019.
What's Old is New Again: The Nineteenth Century Voter Registration Debates and Lessons About Voter Identification Disputes
A Pepperdine University Legal Studies Research Paper published in 2017.
Former United States Attorney General Meese on Voter ID Laws - Podcast
From the Federalist Society in 2015.
"Voter Suppression" Is a Myth, but It’s an Article of Faith to Liberals
From the Heritage Foundation in 2021
FIGHTING VOTER SUPPRESSION
A page with links from the American Civil Liberties Union
The New Voter Suppression
From the Brennan Center for Justice. Published in 2020.
How The Trump Admin’s Attempt To Perpetuate The Voter Fraud Myth Failed Miserably
From Talking Points Memo. Published in 2020
Are States Purging Or Cleaning Voter Registration Rolls?
From National Public Radio (NPR). 2019
How Black Americans still face disproportionate barriers to the ballot box in 2020
From Business Insider. Published in 2020.
The NBA And The 2020 Election: Here Are The Arenas That Will Serve As Voting Sites
From Forbes. Published in 2020.
Meet the Brave but Overlooked Women of Color Who Fought for the Vote
In “Finish the Fight!,” excerpted here, New York Times journalists tell the stories of lesser-known figures in the battle to make the 19th Amendment a reality.

Lack of ability to vote if you have a felony on your record

Voting Rights for People Convicted of Felonies
From JSTOR Daily (November 2022).
How Republicans Undermined Ex-Felon Voting Rights in Florida
From the New York Times. Published in 2020.
Should People Who Have Completed Felony Sentences Be Allowed to Vote?
A ProCon article from Britannica.
Felon Voting Laws By State
A factsheet from FindLaw published in 2020.
A Misdemeanant & Ex-Felon’s Guide to Voting in North Carolina
A pamphlet published by the North Carolina State Board of Elections
Felon Voting Rights History
A 6 minute video from PBS.
Locked Out 2022: Estimates of People Denied Voting Rights
From The Sentencing Project

Assignment Information

Institutional Racism Inquiry

Noodletools

Noodletools This link opens in a new window
NoodleTools is an online research management platform that helps you evaluate information, build accurate citations, archive source material, take notes, outline topics, and prepare to write. Sign in with Google.

Noodletools Help
This guide will answer all of your questions about how to use Noodletools.

Suggested Subscription Databases

These databases are listed in the order of usefulness for this assignment. Start at the top!

Global Issues This link opens in a new window
Provides a global perspective, integrating news, global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics, and more. Citations export directly into Noodletools.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Find overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of today's important social issues. Citations export directly into Noodletools.
Issues and Controversies in History This link opens in a new window
Use primary sources to analyze great conflicts in U.S. and world history. Citations export directly to Noodletools. Sign on with Google SSO
Modern World History This link opens in a new window
Offers a comprehensive look at world history from the mid-15th century to the present. Citations export directly into Noodletools. Sign in with Google SSO.
Proquest This link opens in a new window
A large, multi-subject database. Citations export directly into Noodletools.
New York Times - School Pass This link opens in a new window
Use this link to set up your access to ASD's New York Times subscription.

A to Z Databases
This link will take you to all of the databases that the ASD libraries subscribe to. For login information, see the secure document below.
ASD Databases Login Information
You must be signed in to your ASD account to view these passwords.

Gerrymandering

Gerrymandering

WHY RACE MATTERS IN REDISTRICTING
From the Legal Defense Fund
Racial Gerrymandering and the 2021-2022 Redistricting Process
From the League of Women Voters
Systemic Inequality | Racial Gerrymandering, The For the People Act, and Bronivich: Systemic Racism and Voting Rights in 2021
This article from the Fordham Law Review takes an in-depth look at the legal issues related to voting inequality.
How Partisan Gerrymandering Limits Voting Rights
From the Center for American Progress. Published in 2020.
Want to dismantle structural racism in the US? Help fight gerrymandering
From the Guardian. Published in 2020.

Creative Commons License

This guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike license.