Skip to Main Content

Race, Culture, & Human Rights: Unit 2: Health Access

Health Access

Search for Books

Destiny Library Catalog
Look for library books related to your topic. When you get to the catalog, don't forget to sign in!
Sora
Follow this link or download the SoraApp to access the library's ebook collection. Sign in with Google.

Health Access

How ‘Weathering’ Contributes to Racial Health Disparities
"When Dr. Arline Geronimus first introduced the theory in 1990, her ideas were derided and largely ignored. Now, people are starting to listen." From the New York Times
Understanding and Addressing Racial Disparities in Health Care
Health disparities between blacks and whites run deep
This article is from the Harvard School of Public Health.
Kids exposed to racism have higher risk of depression and sickness
Newsela adapted this from the Washington Post. Published in 2019.
Time for justice: Tackling race inequalities in health and housing
From the Brookings Institution. Published in 2016.
Fact Sheet: Health Disparities by Race and Ethnicity
From the Center for American Progress. Published in 2010.
Teaching About Racism in the Context of Persistent Health and Healthcare Disparities: How Educators Can Enlighten Themselves and Their Learners
This toolkit has many more links and resources to explore.
Hazard Short: Racism as a Public Health Issue
This is a 2-minute long podcast.
Institutional Racism and Health Care for Minorities
From WebMD

Healthcare Overall

Assignment Information

Institutional Racism Inquiry

Noodletools

Noodletools This link opens in a new window
NoodleTools is an online research management platform that helps you evaluate information, build accurate citations, archive source material, take notes, outline topics, and prepare to write. Sign in with Google.

Noodletools Help
This guide will answer all of your questions about how to use Noodletools.

Suggested Subscription Databases

These databases are listed in the order of usefulness for this assignment. Start at the top!

Global Issues This link opens in a new window
Provides a global perspective, integrating news, global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics, and more. Citations export directly into Noodletools.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Find overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of today's important social issues. Citations export directly into Noodletools.
Issues and Controversies in History This link opens in a new window
Use primary sources to analyze great conflicts in U.S. and world history. Citations export directly to Noodletools. Sign on with Google SSO
Modern World History This link opens in a new window
Offers a comprehensive look at world history from the mid-15th century to the present. Citations export directly into Noodletools. Sign in with Google SSO.
Proquest This link opens in a new window
A large, multi-subject database. Citations export directly into Noodletools.
New York Times - School Pass This link opens in a new window
Use this link to set up your access to ASD's New York Times subscription.

A to Z Databases
This link will take you to all of the databases that the ASD libraries subscribe to. For login information, see the secure document below.
ASD Databases Login Information
You must be signed in to your ASD account to view these passwords.

Birth

Birth: Lack of access to health services or healthy deliveries for mom and child

Working Together to Reduce Black Maternal Mortality
From the CDC.
Our Black maternal health crisis is an American tragedy
From the American Medical Association
Beyoncé, Serena Williams open up about potentially fatal childbirths, a problem especially for black mothers
From the Washington Post. (We do not have a subscription, so you can access only if you haven't read the maximum number of free articles this month.)
Serena Williams Is Calling Out Racism in Health Care
From Teen Vogue

Marginalization of Help for Birth Rates

Stereotypes

Dangerous stereotypes of pain tolerance, thick skin, predisposition

Racial Stereotypes Are Making Americans Sicker
From Forbes magazine
Unequal Treatment Confronting Racial and Ethnic Disparities in Health Care
"In Unequal Treatment, a panel of experts documents this evidence and explores how persons of color experience the health care environment." This link takes you to the table of contents of a 700+ page ebook. Follow the links to the section that you need.
Black Americans are less likely to be prescribed painkillers – why?
From The Guardian
Racial Discrimination in Healthcare: How Structural Racism Affects Healthcare
Myths about physical racial differences were used to justify slavery — and are still believed by doctors today
From The New York Time Magazine.
How we fail black patients in pain
From the Association of American Medical Colleges.
Diversity and Discrimination in Health Care
Anti-Black Medical Gaslighting in Healthcare: Experiences of Black Women in Canada
Racism in healthcare: What you need to know
The construction of racial stereotypes and how they serve as racial propaganda
Medical Apartheid
Tuskegee Syphilis Study

Fear of Trusting Physicians

Fear of Trusting Physicians

Unequal Treatment Confronting Racial and Ethnic Disparities in Health Care
"In Unequal Treatment, a panel of experts documents this evidence and explores how persons of color experience the health care environment." This link takes you to the table of contents of a 700+ page ebook. Follow the links to the section that you need.
Understanding and Ameliorating Medical Mistrust Among Black Americans
An article from The Commonwealth Fund.
A Verywell Report: How Racism Damages the Black Health Experience
From VeryWell Health.
Trust in the Health Care System and the Use of Preventive Health Services by Older Black and White Adults
From a research study in the American Journal of Public Health, 2009.

Creative Commons License

This guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike license.