ASD Libraries: Race, Culture, & Human Rights: Regional Racism within the Middle East

Assignment Information

Migrant-Workers.org
A valuable resource documenting the experiences of migrant workers in the Middle East and the GCC region, aiming to raise public awareness and advocating reform.
Who is “Indian” in the Gulf? Race, Labor and Citizenship
From the Middle East Research and Information Project (June 2021).
Changing the Tide for the Gulf’s Migrant Workers
From the Wilson Center (June 2022).
Crackdown on “azad” visa holders in Saudi Arabia
From Migrant-Workers.org (February 2023).

The growing problem of anti-kurdism
From The Times of Israel (November 2021).
Against All Enemies
From Diwan, blog post from the Carnegie Endowment for International Peace’s Middle East Program and the Malcolm H. Kerr Carnegie Middle East Center (December 2022).
Kurdish Repression in Turkey
From Cultural Survivor (February 2010).
Arabs and Kurds – Why can’t they just get along?
From Lima Charlie News (January 2019), a group that prides itself in factual unbiased reporting.
The image of Arabs in Kurdish oral heritage
A unique look and explanation of the oral heritage of Kurds (towards Arabs) from openDemocracy (August 2018).

The debris of history: Christians and Arabs of the Ottoman Empire
A bit of history to get you started on this topic from Ahval, a Turkish platform committed to transparency and freedom of speech.
Arabs and Turks: How They Have Drawn Closer
From the Middle East Institute (July 2012).
Anti-Arab sentiment sweeps Turkey, home to world's largest refugee population
From France24 (January 2022).
Syrians in Turkey continue to face rise in discrimination
From Al Arabiya News (September 2020)

Noodletools This link opens in a new window
NoodleTools is an online research management platform that helps you evaluate information, build accurate citations, archive source material, take notes, outline topics, and prepare to write. Sign in with Google.

Noodletools Help
This guide will answer all of your questions about how to use Noodletools.

These databases are listed in the order of usefulness for this assignment. Start at the top!

Global Issues This link opens in a new window
Provides a global perspective, integrating news, global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics, and more. Citations export directly into Noodletools.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Find overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of today's important social issues. Citations export directly into Noodletools.
Issues and Controversies in History This link opens in a new window
Use primary sources to analyze great conflicts in U.S. and world history. Citations export directly to Noodletools. Sign on with Google SSO
Modern World History This link opens in a new window
Offers a comprehensive look at world history from the mid-15th century to the present. Citations export directly into Noodletools. Sign in with Google SSO.
Proquest This link opens in a new window
A large, multi-subject database. Citations export directly into Noodletools.

A to Z Databases
This link will take you to all of the databases that the ASD libraries subscribe to. For login information, see the secure document below.
ASD Databases Login Information
You must be signed in to your ASD account to view these passwords.

Destiny Library Catalog
Look for library books related to your topic. When you get to the catalog, don't forget to sign in!
Sora
Follow this link or download the SoraApp to access the library's ebook collection. Sign in with Google.

Armenia
Speech by HIS EXCELLENCY VARTAN OSKANIAN, MINISTER OF FOREIGN AFFAIRS OF THE REPUBLIC OF ARMENIA at The World Conference Against Racism, Racial Discrimination, Xenophobia and Related Intolerance

Durban, 31 August – 7 September 2001
Application of the International Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Racial Discrimination (Armenia v. Azerbaijan)
Links to recent International Court of Justice rulings.
ECRI - Country monitoring in Armenia
From the European Commission Against Racism and Intolerance