Unit 1 - Privilege, Prejudice, and Race - Race, Culture, & Human Rights - ASD Libraries at American School of Dubai

Suggested Subscription Databases

These databases are listed in the order of usefulness for this assignment. Start at the top!

Global Issues This link opens in a new window
Provides a global perspective, integrating news, global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics, and more. Citations export directly into Noodletools.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Find overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of today's important social issues. Citations export directly into Noodletools.
Issues and Controversies in History This link opens in a new window
Use primary sources to analyze great conflicts in U.S. and world history. Citations export directly to Noodletools. Sign on with Google SSO
Modern World History This link opens in a new window
Offers a comprehensive look at world history from the mid-15th century to the present. Citations export directly into Noodletools. Sign in with Google SSO.
Proquest This link opens in a new window
A large, multi-subject database. Citations export directly into Noodletools.

A to Z Databases
This link will take you to all of the databases that the ASD libraries subscribe to. For login information, see the secure document below.
ASD Databases Login Information
You must be signed in to your ASD account to view these passwords.

Destiny Library Catalog
Look for library books related to your topic. When you get to the catalog, don't forget to sign in!
Sora
Follow this link or download the SoraApp to access the library's ebook collection. Sign in with Google.

Stereotypes
From Simply Psychology (2017).
The terrifying power of stereotypes – and how to deal with them
From The Conversation.
Why Stereotypes Are Harmful
From the Momentous Institute (October 2017).
The Psychology of Stereotypes
From ABC News (September 2006).
Opportunities Lost: The Impact of Stereotypes on Self and Others
From Carstensen, L. L., & Hartel, C. R. (Eds.). (2006). When I'm 64. The National Academies Press.

Stereotypes, Prejudice and Discrimination
Discrimination: What it is, and how to cope
From the American Psychological Association (October 2019).
Types of Discrimination
From the Centers of Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).
Article 14: Protection from discrimination
From the Equality and Human Rights Commission (June 2021).
Discrimination in America
From Harvard Public Health Magazine (Spring 2018).

Noodletools This link opens in a new window
NoodleTools is an online research management platform that helps you evaluate information, build accurate citations, archive source material, take notes, outline topics, and prepare to write. Sign in with Google.

Noodletools Help
This guide will answer all of your questions about how to use Noodletools.

This guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike license.

Contact us if you have suggestions for or questions about this guide!

Linda Hoiseth

High School Librarian

lhoiseth@asdubai.org

Twitter: @lhoiseth

Sana Daher

MS/HS Library Instructional Assistant

sdaher@asdubai.org