ASD Libraries: Race, Culture, & Human Rights: Unit 2: Environmental Racism

Search for Books

Destiny Library Catalog
Look for library books related to your topic. When you get to the catalog, don't forget to sign in!
Sora
Follow this link or download the SoraApp to access the library's ebook collection. Sign in with Google.

Rural (Farmer) Environmental Racism

Farmer Environmental Racism

The Industrialization of Agriculture and Environmental Racism: A Deadly Combination Affecting Neighborhoods and the Dinner Table
A presentation from the Environmental Justice: A Challenge for the 21st Century seminar (July 1997), from the Institute for Agriculture & Trade Policy.
How Black North Carolinians pay the price for the world’s cheap bacon
From VOX (April 2022).
The Links Between Industrial Agriculture & Environmental Racism
From the Ecosia blog (November 2020).
Factory Farming and Environmental Racism
From the Factory Farmers Awareness Coalition (August 2020).
A harvest for the world: A Black family farm is fighting racism in agriculture and climate change
From the Washington Post (June 2021).
'Make Farmers Black Again': African Americans Fight Discrimination To Own Farmland
From NPR, August 2020
The USDA Is Set To Give Black Farmers Debt Relief. They've Heard That One Before
From NPR, June 2021
'We Are Each Other's Harvest:' The Past, Present And Future Of Black Farmers
From NPR, August 2021
Black Farmers Have Long Faced Discrimination. New Aid Aims To Right Past Wrongs
From NPR, March 2021
Black Missouri Farmer: ‘We Are A Rapidly Dying Species’
From NPR, August 2021
‘You Can Feel the Tension’: A Windfall for Minority Farmers Divides Rural America
From the New York Times, March 2021
The Enduring Racism of American Agriculture
From Yale Law School.
Farming's Racist Roots
A podcast from the American University's School of International Service discusses agricultural policy, racial inequities, and the need for change.

How Racism Has Shaped the American Farming Landscape

A Terrible Thing to Waste by Harriet A. Washington
Call Number: 305.801 WAS
ISBN: 9780316509435
Publication Date: 2019
A "powerful and indispensable" look at the devastating consequences of environmental racism (Gerald Markowitz) -- and what we can do to remedy its toxic effects on marginalized communities."

Inadequate Safe Water Supply

Jackson water crisis: A legacy of environmental racism?
From BBC News (September 2022).
In America, racism is in the water
From Al Jazeera (December 2022).
New Drinking Water Report: Communities of Color More Likely to Suffer Drinking Water Violations For Years
From the NRDC, the National Resource Defense Council (September 2019).
When it comes to access to clean water, 'race is still strongest determinant,' report says
From NBC News (November 2019).
Clean Water and Reproductive Justice: Lack of Access Harms Women of Color
From the National Partnership for Women & Families (July 2020).
Drinking Water Infrastructure and Environmental Disparities: Evidence and Methodological Considerations
From the American Journal of Public Health (December 2011).

Pollution of soil, air, traffic, noise

Pollution Is a Racial Justice Issue. Let’s Fight it that Way.
From the World Resources Institute (October 2020).
Pollution Is Killing Black Americans. This Community Fought Back.
From the New York Times (July 2020).
EP. 2, “Uncovering”: Noise Pollution + Environmental Racism, in Sound
From YR Media (September 2022).
People of Color Breathe More Hazardous Air. The Sources Are Everywhere.
From the New York Times (September 2021).
Examining the effects of environmental inequity in Houston
From Understanding Houston (April 2022).

Assignment Information

Institutional Racism Inquiry

Noodletools

Noodletools This link opens in a new window
NoodleTools is an online research management platform that helps you evaluate information, build accurate citations, archive source material, take notes, outline topics, and prepare to write. Sign in with Google.

Noodletools Help
This guide will answer all of your questions about how to use Noodletools.

Suggested Subscription Databases

These databases are listed in the order of usefulness for this assignment. Start at the top!

Global Issues This link opens in a new window
Provides a global perspective, integrating news, global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics, and more. Citations export directly into Noodletools.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Find overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of today's important social issues. Citations export directly into Noodletools.
Issues and Controversies in History This link opens in a new window
Use primary sources to analyze great conflicts in U.S. and world history. Citations export directly to Noodletools. Sign on with Google SSO
Modern World History This link opens in a new window
Offers a comprehensive look at world history from the mid-15th century to the present. Citations export directly into Noodletools. Sign in with Google SSO.
Proquest This link opens in a new window
A large, multi-subject database. Citations export directly into Noodletools.
New York Times - School Pass This link opens in a new window
Use this link to set up your access to ASD's New York Times subscription.

A to Z Databases
This link will take you to all of the databases that the ASD libraries subscribe to. For login information, see the secure document below.
ASD Databases Login Information
You must be signed in to your ASD account to view these passwords.

Urban Environmental Racism

Too many Black Americans live in food deserts
From McKinsey & Company, September 2021
Food Apartheid: Racialized Access to Healthy Affordable Food
From the National Resources Defense Council, April 2021
Food Insecurity in a Low-Income, Predominantly African American Cohort Following the COVID-19 Pandemic
A research study from the National Institute of Health
America Has A Food Disparity Problem
In this podcast, sociologist and author of What the Other Half Eats, Priya Fielding-Singh, discussing how food inequality permeates our society and what can be done about it.
How Racism Shapes Our Perception Of Healthy Food
Here is an excerpt from How the Other Half Eats: The Untold Story of Food and Inequality in America by Priya Fielding-Singh.
Twin Cities’ communities of color hurt most by lack of trees. A tornado made it worse.
This September 2022 article from the Minneapolis Star-Tribune uses ArcGIS technology to tell the story.

How the Other Half Eats by Priya Fielding-Singh
Call Number: 363.8 FIE
ISBN: 9780316427265
Publication Date: 2021-11-16
"Inequality in America manifests in many ways, but perhaps nowhere more than in how we eat. From her years of field research, sociologist and ethnographer Priya Fielding-Singh brings us into the kitchens of dozens of families from varied educational, economic, and ethnoracial backgrounds to explore how--and why--we eat the way we do."