ASD Libraries: Race, Culture, & Human Rights: Unit 2: Institutional Racism Home

Search the Library Catalog

Destiny Library Catalog
Look for library books related to your topic. When you get to the catalog, don't forget to sign in!
Sora
Follow this link or download the SoraApp to access the library's ebook collection. Sign in with Google.

Explainer: what is systemic racism and institutional racism?
From The Conversation, a website where journalists and academics collaborate and publish research-based news and analyses.
The Race Gap: How U.S. systemic racism plays out in Black lives
From Reuters.

Institutional Racism and Health Care for Minorities
From WebMD
The Impact of Institutional Racism on Maternal and Child Health
From the National Institute of Children's Health Quality
Systemic Racism in Higher Education
Museus, Samuel & Ledesma, María & Parker, Tara. (2015). Racism and Racial Equity in Higher Education. ASHE Higher Education Report. 42. 1-112.

The 1619 Project
The 1619 Project is an ongoing initiative from The New York Times Magazine that began in August 2019, the 400th anniversary of the beginning of American slavery. It aims to reframe the country’s history by placing the consequences of slavery and the contributions of black Americans at the very center of our national narrative.
The 1619 Project Podcast

Noodletools This link opens in a new window
NoodleTools is an online research management platform that helps you evaluate information, build accurate citations, archive source material, take notes, outline topics, and prepare to write. Sign in with Google.

Noodletools Help
This guide will answer all of your questions about how to use Noodletools.

These databases are listed in the order of usefulness for this assignment. Start at the top!

Global Issues This link opens in a new window
Provides a global perspective, integrating news, global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics, and more. Citations export directly into Noodletools.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Find overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of today's important social issues. Citations export directly into Noodletools.
Issues and Controversies in History This link opens in a new window
Use primary sources to analyze great conflicts in U.S. and world history. Citations export directly to Noodletools. Sign on with Google SSO
Modern World History This link opens in a new window
Offers a comprehensive look at world history from the mid-15th century to the present. Citations export directly into Noodletools. Sign in with Google SSO.
Proquest This link opens in a new window
A large, multi-subject database. Citations export directly into Noodletools.
New York Times - School Pass This link opens in a new window
Use this link to set up your access to ASD's New York Times subscription.

A to Z Databases
This link will take you to all of the databases that the ASD libraries subscribe to. For login information, see the secure document below.
ASD Databases Login Information
You must be signed in to your ASD account to view these passwords.

This guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike license.

Contact us if you have suggestions for or questions about this guide!

Linda Hoiseth

High School Librarian

lhoiseth@asdubai.org

Twitter: @lhoiseth

Sana Daher

MS/HS Library Instructional Assistant

sdaher@asdubai.org