ASD Libraries: Global Issues in Action: Unit 2 Harkness Practice

Anti-racism and Intersectionality

How do you see the intersections between antiracism and other social justice movements, particularly in the context of addressing climate change?

Consider factors such as gender, socioeconomic status, and nationality.
How can an intersectional approach strengthen efforts to combat both racial injustice and environmental challenges?

Climate Change and Intersectionality

Yale Experts Explain: Intersectionality and Climate Change
"Intersectionality is a way of examining issues to understand how characteristics such as race, place, age, gender, and geography intersect with each other and interact with power structures to create and reinforce power, privilege, disadvantage, and discrimination . . ."
Intersectionality can help us identify the women at climate change's sharpest edge
"Intersectionality can help us understand better how and why some groups of women are more impacted than others."
Why the fight for climate justice is a fight for justice itself
"Movements are overlapping to take an intersectional approach to activism"
Intersectional Environmentalism: Why Intersectionality is Important When Looking at Climate Change
"When looking at environmental justice and campaigns against climate change, it is crucial to understand the nuance behind the climate movement and how it affects different communities."

Environmental Racisim

Environmental Racism and Classism by Anne C. Cunningham (Editor)
Call Number: 305.8 ENV
ISBN: 9781534500167
Publication Date: 2017
Contains fifteen essays that debate issues related to environmental problems in poor and minority communities and the argument that environmental protection is a basic right.
A Terrible Thing to Waste by Harriet A. Washington
Call Number: 305.8 WAS
ISBN: 9780316509435
Publication Date: 2019
A "powerful and indispensable" look at the devastating consequences of environmental racism -- and what we can do to remedy its toxic effects on marginalized communities.

How to Unite the Fight for Racial Equity and Environmental Action
"To truly achieve an equitable, fair, and greener future, we must defend Black lives and our climate future, together."
The Environmental Justice Movement
"Environmental justice is an important part of the struggle to improve and maintain a clean and healthful environment, especially for communities of color who have been forced to live, work, and play closest to sources of pollution."
10 Shocking Instances of Environmental Racism and How We Can Combat It
"Environmental racism is a pressing issue that disproportionately impacts communities of color, both in policy and practice."

Gender and Climate Change

How does climate change impact women and girls?
"The climate crisis is not “gender neutral”. Women and girls experience the greatest impacts of climate change, which amplifies existing gender inequalities and poses unique threats to their livelihoods, health, and safety.:
What does gender equality have to do with climate change?
"While climate change is a threat for everyone, it does not affect everyone equally."

Nationality and the effects of climate change

The concept of 'climate refugee': Towards a possible definition
"With climate change as the driving catalyst, the number of 'climate refugees' will continue to rise."
Climate change and disaster displacement
"UNHCR is providing protection and assistance to many refugees and internally displaced people impacted by the climate emergency as well as helping them increase their resilience in a changing climate."

COP28 and Global Cooperation

As we approach COP28, the global community faces immense challenges in addressing climate change. How can nations work together to ensure that climate policies are not only effective in mitigating environmental damage but also considerate of social justice issues, including racial and economic disparities?

In what ways can the principles of antiracism and equity be embedded in international efforts to combat climate change, and what role should intersectionality play in shaping these strategies?

COP 28 UAE: Letter to Parties
" . . . we need everyone to play their part in a global effort that transforms our current course and supercharges solutions across the negotiations and the Action Agenda."
United Nations Climate Change Conference (COP28) - Questions and Answers
"It is a forum for states to discuss how to confront the climate crisis that is taking a growing toll on human rights around the globe."
CHILDREN DISPLACED IN A CHANGING CLIMATE
"The link between climate change and displacement is complex. Yet it is clearer
than ever that the climate is shifting patterns of displacement."
Re-envisioning Climate Change Adaptation to Sustain Peace
"Though adaptation now stands high in the climate change agenda, this has not yet been adequately reflected into the delivery of sufficient international climate adaptation finance commitments over the years, meaning that developing countries and territories are paying more than ever before for their adaptation needs."
Falling Short: Addressing the Climate Finance Gap for Children
"Climate finance is key to implementing the ‘quantum leap’ in climate action required to meet the target of limiting temperature rises to 1.5°C and to safeguard communities from the impacts of climate change, yet global climate finance commitments remain unfulfilled and woefully inadequate, particularly for adaptation."
Gender Equality in the Sustainable Energy Transition
"The sustainable energy transition can create benefits and opportunities for all. "
COP28: Everything You Need to Know About the 2023 UN Climate Change Conference
"The COP28 climate summit is happening in Dubai, starting in November. Here's what you should know."
What Would Make the Next UN Climate Conference (COP28) the First True “Health COP”?
"In addition to focusing attention on the existential human health risks of climate change, it is vital that a “Health COP” delivers commitments that maximize the health gains that can be obtained from more aggressive mitigation and adaptation."
What is COP28 in Dubai and why is it important?
"World leaders are set to discuss tackling climate change at a big UN summit in Dubai."
State of Climate Action 2023
"The State of Climate Action 2023 provides the world’s most comprehensive roadmap of how to close the gap in climate action across sectors to limit global warming to 1.5°C. "
Benchmarks for Success for COP28
"These events over the last few months have added to the urgency for countries to correct course in the world’s fight against climate change. The next UN climate summit (COP28) in Dubai in November 2023 offers a prime opportunity to do so."
What Is COP28? And Other Questions About the Big U.N. Climate Summit
"Diplomats and leaders will gather in Dubai for United Nations climate talks. Here are some key facts."

Climate and Environmental Injustice by Gail Terp
Call Number: 363.73 TER
ISBN: 9781678203948
Publication Date: 2022
Climate change and pollution harm some groups more than others. This is called climate and environmental injustice.
Our Planet, Our Choice by Scientific American Editors (Editor)
Call Number: 363,73 OUR
ISBN: 9781684169191
Publication Date: 2022
This title allows readers to explore how climate change and global warming are shaping human communities and the natural world.
Saving Earth by Olugbemisola Rhuday-Perkovich; Nathaniel Rich (Introduction by); Tim Foley (Illustrator)
Call Number: 363.73 RHU
ISBN: 9780374313050
Publication Date: 2022
Saving Earth tells the human story of the climate change conversation from the recent past into the present day.
The Climate Book by Greta Thunberg
Call Number: 363.,73 THU
ISBN: 9780593492307
Publication Date: 2023
In The Climate Book, Greta Thunberg has gathered the wisdom of over one hundred experts--geophysicists, oceanographers and meteorologists; engineers, economists and mathematicians; historians, philosophers and Indigenous leaders--to equip us all with the knowledge we need to combat climate disaster.

Noodletools

Noodletools This link opens in a new window
NoodleTools is an online research management platform that helps you evaluate information, build accurate citations, archive source material, take notes, outline topics, and prepare to write. Sign in with Google.

Noodletools Help
This guide will answer all of your questions about how to use Noodletools.

Sustainable Development Goals Libguide

Sustainable Development Goals Libguide
This ASD Libguide has a page for each of the SDGs that you can use to explore a variety of topics.

Recommended Databases

Britannica School This link opens in a new window
Britannica School is a general encyclopedia that's useful for all subjects. Choose your level: elementary, middle, or high.
New York Times - School Pass This link opens in a new window
Use this link to set up your access to ASD's New York Times subscription.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Find overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of today's important social issues. Citations export directly into Noodletools.
Global Issues This link opens in a new window
Provides a global perspective, integrating news, global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics, and more. Citations export directly into Noodletools.
Credo Source This link opens in a new window
Credo Source is a one-stop research platform combining citable reference content with instructional videos and tutorials, as well as access to other subscription databases. Credo Source is a great starting point for research.
Proquest This link opens in a new window
A large, multi-subject database. Citations export directly into Noodletools.

A to Z Databases
This link will take you to all of the databases that the ASD libraries subscribe to. For login information, see the secure document below.
ASD Databases Login Information
You must be signed in to your ASD account to view these passwords.

Facts About Climate Change

Changing World by David Gibson
Call Number: 363.73 GIB
ISBN: 9781800660281
Publication Date: 2023
Everything you wanted to know about climate change but were too afraid to ask!
The Secret World of Weather by Tristan Gooley
Call Number: 363.73 NEL
ISBN: 9781615197552
Publication Date: 2021
Every cloud, every change in temperature, every raindrop, every sunbeam, every breeze reveals something about our weather--if you know what to look for.

Creative Commons License

This guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike license.

Libguide Creator

Contact me if you have suggestions for or questions about this guide!

Linda Hoiseth

High School Librarian

lhoiseth@asdubai.org

Twitter: @lhoiseth

Global Issues in Action: Unit 2 Harkness Practice