ASD Libraries: Global Issues in Action: Food (Edible Education)

Assignment Information

Unit 3 Study Guide: Food

Noodletools

Noodletools This link opens in a new window
NoodleTools is an online research management platform that helps you evaluate information, build accurate citations, archive source material, take notes, outline topics, and prepare to write. Sign in with Google.

Noodletools Help
This guide will answer all of your questions about how to use Noodletools.

Food Science Resources

Why Organic?
From The Soil Association

Organic School Food: A Roadmap for Success
"The Organic School Food Roadmap is a practical “how-to” guide, developed to help California school food service teams make organic purchasing decisions and overcome key challenges when buying organic foods."

Organic foods: Are they safer? More nutritious?
This article from the Mayo Clinic points out the differences between organic and non-organic foods.
Kiss the Ground for Schools [video]
Password = school
This special educational version of the documentary film, Kiss the Ground, which discusses the use of regenerative agriculture to preserve top soil and fight climate change.
Monoculture Farming In Agriculture Industry
This article provides an overview on monoculture farming, and points out its advantages and disadvantages.
The Rise and Fall of Monoculture Farming
This article points out the downside of monoculture farming and introduces the Diverfarming Project which promotes diversity in crops to help achieve greater sustainability in farming.
Monocultures and Human Rights
A "Guide for documenting violations of the right to adequate food and housing, to water, to land, and territory related to monocultures for industrial agriculture production."
Multi-Crop (Mixed Culture) Farming Practices Promote More Fruitful Farmland than Single-Crop (Monoculture)
From BeyondPesticides.org.
Crop diversity enriches soil fungi in depleted soil
From UC Berkeley’s Rausser College of Natural Resources.
What banned substances might be hiding in your groceries?
An interactive guide to banned substances that may be found in common grocery items from the Guardian (UK).
PESTICIDES AND WATER POLLUTION
An article on pesticide and water pollution from SafeWater.org.
Pesticides in Groundwater
This article explains how pesticides can contaminate groundwater from the U.S. Geological Survey site (USGS.org).
Tanzanian farmers are facing heavy prison sentences if they continue their traditional seed exchange
From Mondiaal Nieuws, a Flemish quarterly alternative news magazine with a special focus on globalization.
Chipotle to Add More Plant-Based Options Focused on Non-Processed Foods Like Cauliflower Rice!
Pros and cons of GMO crop farming [infographic]
An infographic from Oxford University Press.
Here’s why there is such a buzz about farming insects – to feed animals
An article on the use of insects as a sustainable source of protein as animal feed from The Correspondent, a Dutch news site.

Regenerative Agriculture Youtube Playlist
This playlist is compiled by Adam Grows Eden.
Bio-Fertilizers Youtube Playlist
This playlist is compiled by Adam Grows Eden.
Keyline Design Youtube Playlist
"Keyline Design is a design methodology from P..A. Yeomans, meant to capture and redistribute water across farms." This playlist is compiled by Adam Grows Eden.
Regenerative Finance Youtube Playlist
This playlist was compiled by Adam Grows Eden.
Regenerative Ranching Youtube Playlist
This playlist was compiled by Adam Grows Eden.
Regenerative Agriculture book
"Practical Whole Systems Guide to Making Small Farms Work"
NYC Urban Agriculture
"NYC Urban Agriculture is a portal created by the Department of City Planning, NYC Parks, and the Department of Small Business Services to inform businesses, property owners, and the public at large about agriculture in New York City. Agricultural uses include personal gardening, community gardening, commercial farming, indoor farming such as hydroponics and aquaponics, rooftop greenhouses, and more."
EWG - Environmental Working Group
"Our mission is simple: To empower you with breakthrough research to make informed choices and live a healthy life in a healthy environment."

@regenerativefarmers ⁉️WHAT IF⁉️ What if more folks had chickens? (Legally of course!) What could we accomplish?? Those thanksgiving leftovers that no one can stomach anymore or those gone stale goldfish? What about the meat in the back of the fridge that may or may not be safe for human consumption?? The idea of reducing the landfill brings me so much hope!! And what do we get in return?? The best eggs you’ve ever had and amazing garden amendments!!! Not to mention your ability to say NO to conventional factory eggs 🙌 I realize this can be quite an undertaking ! But once you get started- chickens can bring so much joy & entertainment. As well as work wonders for nature ☺️ 🔥This audio lit a little fire in my excitement for chickens - and validated my crazy flock! ⤵️I’d love to hear from you! What do you think!? Reposted from @chickouttawater . . #chickenkeeping #zerowaste #zerowasteliving #composting #annarbor #dextermi #annarbormichigan #chickenkeeping #sustainableliving #raisingchickens #backyardfarming #fresheggsdaily #backyardeggs #howtoraisechickens ♬ original sound - RegenerativeFarmersofAmerica

Regenerative Resource Co
"We transform degraded lands."
Eden Partners
"Transforms regions into self-sustaining, decentralized communities that prioritize the well-being of both the environment & its inhabitants"

Book Creation Apps and Sites

Book Creator
This integrates with Canva. Sign in with Google. Use code RGXRW7Y to join our class.
Canva
Sign in with Google.

Recommended Databases

Britannica School This link opens in a new window
Britannica School is a general encyclopedia that's useful for all subjects. Choose your level: elementary, middle, or high.
New York Times - School Pass This link opens in a new window
Use this link to set up your access to ASD's New York Times subscription.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Find overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of today's important social issues. Citations export directly into Noodletools.
Global Issues This link opens in a new window
Provides a global perspective, integrating news, global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics, and more. Citations export directly into Noodletools.
Credo Source This link opens in a new window
Credo Source is a one-stop research platform combining citable reference content with instructional videos and tutorials, as well as access to other subscription databases. Credo Source is a great starting point for research.
Proquest This link opens in a new window
A large, multi-subject database. Citations export directly into Noodletools.

A to Z Databases
This link will take you to all of the databases that the ASD libraries subscribe to. For login information, see the secure document below.
ASD Databases Login Information
You must be signed in to your ASD account to view these passwords.

General Skills & Data Resources

TEDx Talks: Marianne Gee - Want to change the world? Think like a bee.

The Global Food Security Index

Food facts label cards

World Poverty Clock
Explore poverty data by age, gender, and region for every country in the world until 2030
Dollar Street by GapMinder
This interactive site uses photos and income as data to represent different aspects of daily life.
ASD's SDGs Libguide

Food Security & Access Resources

UAE's National Food Security Strategy

Food Security Policy Brief
Explains the concept of food security. From the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FOA)
How the humble Indian Dal could save the planet

The most effective ways to curb climate change might surprise you
A quiz to test your knowledge on what can be done to fight climate change from CNN.
We're Now At A Million Plastic Bottles Per Minute - 91% Of Which Are Not Recycled
An article from Forbes presenting the scale and urgency of the world's plastic pollution problem.
How our waste winds up in places like Malaysia and the Philippines
From the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation (CBC News)
Have you got climate zombies? We debunk the myths that refuse to die
From the Australian Broadcasting Corporation (ABC)
Britain passes one week without coal power for first time since 1882
An article from the Guardian (UK) on Britain's effort to reduce emissions resulting from coal-generated electricity.

Ron Finley Project
"Ron’s vision to rejuvenate communities around the world through gardening, knowledge, and togetherness has taken root."
Harlem Grown
"WE ARE AN INDEPENDENT, NON-PROFIT ORGANIZATION WHOSE MISSION IS TO INSPIRE YOUTH TO LEAD HEALTHY AND AMBITIOUS LIVES THROUGH MENTORSHIP AND HANDS-ON EDUCATION IN URBAN FARMING, SUSTAINABILITY, AND NUTRITION."
Grow NYC: School Gardens
"Our mission is to inspire, promote and facilitate the creation of sustainable gardens in public schools throughout New York City."

Books in the ASD Library

The Monsanto Papers by Gilles-Éric Seralini; Jérôme Douzelet; Vandana Shiva (Foreword by)
Call Number: 632 SER
Publication Date: 2021
Describes the attempts of Monsanto to discredit the author's study published in "Food and Chemical Toxicology," a major scientific journal, that showed the effect of the company's flagship products, Roundup weedkiller and the GM foods created to absorb it, on liver and kidney health. A 2017 class-action lawsuit forced Monsanto to publish confidential documents that proved the company's attempts at a cover-up and fraudulent practices.
The Age of Sustainable Development by Jeffrey D. Sachs; Ban Ki-moon (Foreword by)
Call Number: 338.9 SAC
ISBN: 9780231173155
Publication Date: 2015-03-03
Provides tools, metrics, and practical pathways to help the reader achieve sustainable development goals.
Hot, Hungry Planet by Lisa Palmer
Call Number: 363.8 PAL
ISBN: 9781250084200
Publication Date: 2017-05-09
Focuses on ways to support food security and resilience in a changing world, and the social, educational, and agricultural advances that have made the greatest environmental impact while providing more food.
Trashing the Planet by Stuart A. Kallen
Call Number: 363.72 KAL
ISBN: 9781512413144
Publication Date: 2017-08-01
On a global scale, humans create around 2.6 trillion pounds of waste every year. Learn more about the work of the US Environmental Protection Agency, the Ocean Cleanup Array, the zero waste movement, and the many other government, business, research, and youth efforts working to solve our planet's garbage crisis.
Food by Kathlyn Gay
Call Number: 338.1 GAY
ISBN: 0761346074
Publication Date: 2012
Explores the economical, political, and environmental issues related to food; discusses reasons starving population do not have food despite surpluses in other regions; and looks genetic engineering of plants and animals.
The Dorito Effect by Mark Schatzker
Call Number: 641.3 SCH
Publication Date: 2016
Looks at how scientists have changed the flavor of food and discusses how there has been interference with the highly sophisticated chemical language that has evolved to guide human nutrition.

Search for Books

Destiny Library Catalog
Look for library books related to your topic. When you get to the catalog, don't forget to sign in!
Sora
Follow this link or download the SoraApp to access the library's ebook collection. Sign in with Google.

Food Waste Resources

Food Waste in the Arab Region
Published April 2023
How ‘Ugly’ Fruits and Vegetables Can Help Solve World Hunger
An article from the National Geographic on reducing food waste from using the less saleable fruits and vegetable to reusing food scraps.

Goumbook: Ep.45, ‘SDG12 and Food Waste, how can we make a difference?’
In this episode, Tatiana is joined by Tarek Al Khoury, Regional Coordinator for Resource Efficiency and Sustainable Consumption and Production at the West Asia Office of the United Nations Environment Program (UNEP). They talk about UNEP initiatives to promote the UN Agenda 2030 and the Sustainable Development Goals, more precisely SDG12, and how we can all work together to reduce food waste.
2019 Wasted Food Report
From the Environmental Protection Agency. Published in 2023
ReFED Insights Engine
"An online hub for data and solutions featuring the most comprehensive examination of food loss and waste in the United States."

Other Interesting Resources

How Much Does Dubai Cost?! (Getting $2 meals with Steve Harvey) :

Gapminder
"Gapminder identifies systematic misconceptions about important global trends and proportions and uses reliable data to develop easy to understand teaching materials to rid people of their misconceptions."
ESG on a Sunday podcast
A podcast that focuses on the most interesting ESG stories of the week. "Environmental, social and governance (ESG) is a framework used to assess an organization's business practices and performance on various sustainability and ethical issues."
Children's Aid Society-Nutrition Programs
"
For children and youth to thrive in school and life, they need to grow up strong and healthy. All of our health and nutrition programs are designed to permeate family life. And we have tailored them to address the whole body and all aspects of behavioral wellness."