ASD Libraries: Global Issues in Action: Unit 1: Sustainability

1/2 Air Quality

Air Quality in the UAE Search
Articles from the Global Issues database about air quality in the UAE. You'll need to be logged in. You are encouraged to do other searches in this database as well.

Waste and Pollution by Georgia Amson-Bradshaw (Contribution by)
Call Number: 363.72 AMS

ISBN: 9781725339088

Publication Date: 2022

Briefly explores a wide range of ways waste and pollution get into the environment from human activity, and champions ways readers can reduce their waste and pollution footprint.

Global Air Quality
This ArcGIS Storymap explores 19 years of particulate matter in the air we breathe
Air Quality Index (AQI) Basics
"AirNow is a partnership of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA), National Park Service, NASA, Centers for Disease Control, and tribal, state, and local air quality agencies."
Air Quality
From the UAE Ministry of Climate Change and Environment
Air Quality in Dubai
From IQAir. "Today, we operate the world's largest free real-time air quality information platform and engage an ever-growing number of global citizens, organizations, and governments."
UAE Air Quality Index - DOESN'T WORK
A Storymap from the UAE Ministry of Climate Change and Environment
Climate Change: Atmospheric Carbon Dioxide
Posted by the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration at Climate.gov
UAE Air Quality Forecast (Air Quality Level – AQL) - DOESN'T WORK
This is a live map from the UAE Ministry of Climate Change and Environment
MAP: How many people have died from air pollution causes?
This map shows the age-standardized mortality rate attributed to air pollution by countries. The rate is shown as deaths per 100,000 people. The global average is 95 deaths per 100,000 people. Any areas in the map above this rate are shown in red.
MAP LIST: Global Air Quality
This gallery contains maps that show different patterns about air quality globally. The data within these maps is derived from NASA SEDAC particulate matter 2.5 (PM 2.5) data.
Abu Dhabi plans to directly monitor vehicle emissions on road
Greenhouse Gas Emissions from a Typical Passenger Vehicle
From the US Environmental Protection Agency
Blue Skies, Blue Seas
Air Pollution, Marine Plastics, and Coastal Erosion in the Middle East and North Africa. From the World Bank Group.
The dangers of school bus idling
From Industrial Safety and Hygiene News
Diesel Exhaust and School Bus Idling
From the Environmental Protection Agency. Published in 2003
Johnson Controls, EmiratesGBC conduct study on UAE schools' air quality
This article is from Trade Arabia, June 2024
Air pollution and health risks due to vehicle traffic
"This study suggests that health risks from congestion are potentially significant, and that additional traffic can significantly increase risks, depending on the type of road and other factors."
Emissions from bus travel
From CarbonIndependent.org

3/4/5 Composting

Remember to check out the "Recycling and Trash - General" box on the top of the page.

What is Industrial Composting?
From the UC Boulder Environmental Center.
Your Step-by-Step Guide on How to Make Compost to Enrich Your Garden
From Better Homes and Gardens
Composting At Home
From the US Environmental Protection Agency
The Environmental Impact of Food Waste
By Move for Hunger
How Overproduction is Food Waste’s Biggest Culprit and Opportunity
From Waste 360
Closing the loop
"Lowe’s commitment to sustainability has resulted in it winning a green Michelin star and the title of Sustainable Restaurant 2022 at MENA’s 50 Best. We find out why."

6: Cafeteria - Food Packaging and Reusable Dishes

Remember to check out the "Mindful Consumption - General" and the "Recycling and Trash General" boxes at the bottom of the page.

Plastic dish articles in Global Issues
Sign in with the ASD username and password.
Identifying Sustainable Food Service and Food Service Ware
"When looking to make your food service sustainable, there are many options to consider. This webpage provides some resources on sustainable food service practices (e.g. food and beverage offerings, waste management options, energy and water efficient operations, etc.) as well as some of the products that may be provided under these services (e.g. plates, bowls, cups, cutlery, take-out containers, etc.)."
Reusable Food Serviceware Guide
"This guide provides examples of reusable foodware substitutes for disposable products that contribute to the
waste generated by a typical food service business."
NewsBanner Government of Dubai Media Office News Emirates unveils new closed loop recycling initiative to reduce plastic
"Emirates is unveiling a new closed loop recycling initiative this month, where millions of onboard items such as plastic trays, bowls, snack and casserole dishes, will now be recycled in a local facility and remade into fresh, ready-to-use Emirates meal service products."

8 Energy Use - Lightbulbs

Lightbulb articles in Global Issues
Login with the ASD database username and password.

Remember to check out the "Mindful Consumption - General" and the "Recycling and Trash General" boxes on the top of the page.

FACT OR FICTION: SOLAR POWER IS THE MOST EFFICIENT DURING THE WINTER MONTHS
From Blue Raven Solar
Energy Efficiency
From the United Arab Emirates Government Portal
LED Lighting
From the US Department of Energy
Building Bright Futures with Energy-Efficient Lighting for Schools
From a US-based energy company.
K-12 Lighting Toolkit
"K-12 schools can save up to 50% on energy use if they optimize their lighting equipment and operations."
Switched off lights and IT equipment after school
Energy Sparks is a nonprofit in the UK that helps schools become more energy efficient.
When to Turn Off Your Lights
From the US Department of Energy
Shining a light on energy in schools
From Education Business

8. Energy Use - Air Conditioning

Air Conditioning articles form the Global Issues database
Log in with the usual password.
UAE's mission impossible: Cooling the desert
An article from 2011.
AC Feels Great, But It’s Terrible for the Planet. Here’s How to Fix That
"Unfortunately, air-conditioning is part of what’s causing the unusual heatwave in the first place."
Air conditioners fuel the climate crisis. Can nature help?
"The irony: the widespread use of ACs is actually driving up temperatures by feeding the climate crisis, which could leave up to three-quarters of humans exposed to periods of life-threatening heat and humidity by 2100."

Mindful Consumption - General

Mindful Consumption search on Global Issues database
Log in to access the articles here.

Sustainable Consumption by Bridey Heing (Compiled by)
Call Number: 338.92 SUS

ISBN: 9781534507821

Publication Date: 2021

This book examines the role individual consumption plays in climate change, how companies have attempted to become more sustainable and the effectiveness of these practices.
101 Ways to Go Zero Waste by Kathryn Kellogg
Call Number: 640.28 KEL

ISBN: 9781682683316

Publication Date: 2019

Presents tips and advice for responsible consumption and buying choices to reduce your environmental footprint.
Living Without Plastic by Brigette Allen; Christine Wong
Call Number: 640.28 ALL

ISBN: 9781579659400

Publication Date: 2020

A guide to swaping plastic products for a more sustainable living.
Follow Your Stuff by Kevin Sylvester; Michael Hlinka
Call Number: 338.5 SYL

ISBN: 9781773212548

Publication Date: 2019

Examines the often-complex journey of ordinary goods from production right to our doorsteps.
How Bad Are Bananas? by Michael Berners-Lee
Call Number: 363.738 BER

ISBN: 9781788163811

Publication Date: 2020

Overproduction
This site was created by Students for Sustainability.
Exploring the Concept: Mindfulness of Consumption
A presentation from Dr. Sabrina Helm from the University of Arizona
Mindful Consumption Guide
This guide from the University of British Columbia gives a definition of mindful consumption and details some university initiatives to promote it.

9 Mindful Consumption - Lost and Found

Remember to check out the "Mindful Consumption - General" and the "Recycling and Trash General" boxes at the bottom of the page.

Unraveled by Maxine Bedat
Call Number: 338.4 BED

ISBN: 9780593085974

Publication Date: 2021

"Bédat follows the life of an American icon--a pair of jeans. From a Texas cotton farm to dying and weaving factories in China, sewing floors in Bangladesh and Sri Lanka, back to America where they're shipped out by Amazon warehouse workers. [Bédat] follows the jeans to landfills, or, if they've been 'donated,' shipped back around the world to Africa."

Lost and Found: What gets left behind at schools?
From water bottles to a toaster oven, schools share their most common and unusual unclaimed items and how they attempt to find the owners.
What Happens to the Lost-and-Found Mound at the End of the Year?
From Education Week, May 2024
Found Foundation
This is an organization in the United States that redistributes lost and found items from schools.
New solutions for dealing with lost and found
"Here are some novel ways of dealing with Lost and Found."
Best of WeAreTeachers HELPLINE: Managing a School Lost & Found
"You’ll have better luck getting these items back to their owners if you give a little to thought to how your school is managing its lost & found."
Purging Old Clothes? Here’s How to Responsibly Donate and Repurpose Your Castoffs.

10/14 Mindful Consumption/Zero Waste - CAST and Whiteboard Markers

Remember to check out the "Mindful Consumption - General" and the "Recycling and Trash General" boxes on the top of the page.

101 Ways to Go Zero Waste by Kathryn Kellogg
Call Number: 640.28 KEL

ISBN: 9781682683316

Publication Date: 2019

"Presents tips and advice for responsible consumption and buying choices to reduce your environmental footprint."
Consumed by Aja Barber
Call Number: 338.92 BAR

ISBN: 9781538709849

Publication Date: 2021

"Barber invites [readers] to participate in unlearning, to understand the truth behind why we consume in the way that we do, to confront the uncomfortable feeling that we are never quite enough and why we fill that void with consumption rather than compassion."

A ZERO WASTE WORLD
An article from the Journal of International Affairs in the Global Issues database. (You'll need to log in.)
How Communities Have Defined Zero Waste
"Zero waste has been described in various ways by different entities. The following examples share how some municipalities and other organizations have described zero waste."
Zero Waste Movement: A Complete Guide
"The zero-waste movement is all about reducing trash output. The goal is to shrink a person, business, or system's waste production as small as possible by implementing the 5 principles: refuse, reduce, reuse, repurpose, and recycle."

15/16 E-Waste

Remember to check out the "Mindful Consumption - General" and the "Recycling and Trash General" boxes on the top of the page.

E-Waste by David M. Barker
Call Number: 621.38 BAR

ISBN: 9781532110221

Publication Date: 2017

Humanity's impact on the natural world can have disastrous effects.
What Is the Impact of Excessive Waste and Garbage? by Peggy J. Parks
Call Number: 363.72 PAR

ISBN: 9781682828632

Publication Date: 2020

According to the World Bank, more than 2.2 billion tons (2 billion metric tons) of waste and garbage are produced every year. This has created, and continues to create, serious environmental problems for the world's land and oceans.

A Systematic Review of E-Waste Generation and Environmental Management of Asia Pacific Countries
A scholarly study from the International Journal of Environmental Research and Public Health
Electronic Waste, an Environmental Problem Exported to Developing Countries: The GOOD, the BAD and the UGLY
"Electronic waste (e-waste) is a rapidly developing environmental problem particularly for the most developed countries. There are technological solutions for processing it, but these are costly, and the cheaper option for most developed countries has been to export most of the waste to less developed countries."
The only R2 compliant E-Waste processing facility in the UAE and Africa
An E-waste business in the UAE.
This UAE startup, BANTgo, reimagines the recycling of e-waste
An article from Wired from August 2024

Recycling and Trash - General

Waste and Pollution by Georgia Amson-Bradshaw (Contribution by)
Call Number: 363.72 AMS

ISBN: 9781725339088

Publication Date: 2022

Briefly explores a wide range of ways waste and pollution get into the environment from human activity, and champions ways readers can reduce their waste and pollution footprint.
Trashing the Planet by Stuart A. Kallen
Call Number: 363.72 KAL

ISBN: 9781512413144

Publication Date: 2017-08-01

On a global scale, humans create around 2.6 trillion pounds of waste every year. Learn more about the work of the US Environmental Protection Agency, the Ocean Cleanup Array, the zero waste movement, and the many other government, business, research, and youth efforts working to solve our planet's garbage crisis.
You Are Eating Plastic Every Day by Danielle Smith-Llera
Call Number: 363.738 SMI

ISBN: 9780756562298

Publication Date: 2019

Discusses plastic pollutants, covering how it winds up in the food chain, how it becomes pollution, how it moves around the world as pollution, and more.

The woes of poorly sorted waste – an industry perspective
From the journal Recycling Today
‘WISHFUL RECYCLING’: MORE HARM THAN GOOD
From the University of Washington SCHOOL OF MARINE AND ENVIRONMENTAL AFFAIRS
14 Recycling Contamination Facts That Will Blow Your Mind
From Rubicon Technologies
LANDFILLS: WE'RE RUNNING OUT OF SPACE
From the Roadrunner recycling company
Effects of bin proximity and informational prompts on recycling and contamination
From the Resources, Conservation and Recycling journal.
The Psychology Behind Why People Don't Recycle
From the Huffington Post
HOW OUR TRASH IMPACTS THE ENVIRONMENT
From the site EarthDay.org
Wildlife Over Waste
From the site Environment America
Water Pollution: Everything You Need to Know
From the Natural Resources Defense Council
Marine & Ocean Pollution Statistics & Facts 2020-2021
From Condor Ferries
Eight Million Tons of Plastic Dumped in Ocean Every Year
From National Geographic in 2015
The Effects Of Plastic Pollution On Seabirds
From the Ocean Blue Project
A whopping 91% of plastic isn't recycled
From National Geographic

Billions of tons of plastic have been made over the past decades, and much of it is becoming trash and litter, finds the first analysis of the issue.
Plastic Water Bottle Pollution: Where do all the Bottles End Up?
From the website Healthy Human
Everyday Plastic Ingredient BPA Damages Brain Cells And Affects Mood And Memory
From Medical News Today
Microplastic pollution in oyster bed ecosystems: An assessment of the northern shores of the United Arab Emirates
A scientific study published in Environmental Advances
Bisphenol A (BPA)
From the journal America's Children and the Environment
The UAE is on its way to becoming a hub for plastic recycling
From The National
Blue Skies, Blue Seas
Air Pollution, Marine Plastics, and Coastal Erosion in the Middle East and North Africa. From the World Bank Group.

Noodletools

Noodletools This link opens in a new window
NoodleTools is an online research management platform that helps you evaluate information, build accurate citations, archive source material, take notes, outline topics, and prepare to write. Sign in with Google.

Noodletools Help
This guide will answer all of your questions about how to use Noodletools.

Assignment Information

1.8 GIA Sustainability Guiding Research Questions

Recommended Databases

A to Z Databases
This link will take you to all of the databases that the ASD libraries subscribe to. For login information, see the secure document below.
ASD Databases Login Information
You must be signed in to your ASD account to view these passwords.

Britannica School
Britannica School is a general encyclopedia that's useful for all subjects. Choose your level: elementary, middle, or high.
Credo Source
Credo Source is a one-stop research platform combining citable reference content with instructional videos and tutorials, as well as access to other subscription databases. Credo Source is a great starting point for research.
Global Issues
Provides a global perspective, integrating news, global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics, and more. Citations export directly into Noodletools.
Opposing Viewpoints
Find overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of today's important social issues. Citations export directly into Noodletools.
New York Times - School Pass
Use this link to set up your access to ASD's New York Times subscription.

Search for Books

MackinVision Library Catalog
Look for library books related to your topic. When you get to the catalog, don't forget to sign in!
Sora eBooks & AudioBooks
Follow this link or download the SoraApp to access the library's ebook collection. Sign in with Google.
Sora Magazines
Follow this link or download the SoraApp to access the library's digital magazine collection. Sign in with Google.

Resources for all topics

Sustainable Development Goals Libguide
This ASD Libguide has a page for each of the SDGs that you can use to explore a variety of topics.

How to Be a Global Citizen by DK
Call Number: 323 HOW

ISBN: 9780744029956

Publication Date: 2021

Be the change in your community! This illustrated guide takes you through challenges the world is facing and how you can help overcome them.
How I Resist by Maureen Johnson (Editor)
Call Number: 320 HOW

ISBN: 9781250168368

Publication Date: 2018

A collection of essays, songs, illustrations, and interviews about activism and hope.
The Age of Sustainable Development by Jeffrey D. Sachs; Ban Ki-moon (Foreword by)
Call Number: 338.9 SAC

ISBN: 9780231173155

Publication Date: 2015-03-03

Provides tools, metrics, and practical pathways to help the reader achieve sustainable development goals.
The Story of More (Adapted for Young Adults) by Hope Jahren
Call Number: 363.738 JAH

Publication Date: 2021

This young adult adaptation of acclaimed geochemist and geobiologist Hope Jahren's highly respected nonfiction work is the perfect book for those interested in learning about climate change and how they can contribute to creating a more sustainable future.

UAE SDG Data Hub
"The SDG Data Hub is a comprehensive platform that aims to track, monitor, and report milestones and progress towards the implementation of the SDGs in the UAE."
UAE Ministry of Climate Change and Environment

UAE and the SDGs

UAE SDG Data Hub
"The SDG Data Hub is a comprehensive platform that aims to track, monitor, and report milestones and progress towards the implementation of the SDGs in the UAE."
Atlas of Sustainable Development Goals 2018
Choose United Arab Emirates on the homepage to see details specific to the UAE.
UAE and the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development
This report was produced in 2022.
UAE Ministry of Climate Change and Environment
Making UAE Schools Healthy
Integrated Waste Management in the UAE
From the UAE Ministry of Climate Change and Environment
UAE Air Quality Forecast (Air Quality Level – AQL) - DOESN'T WORK
This is a live map from the UAE Ministry of Climate Change and Environment
New strategy to be developed to protect UAE wetlands
A new campaign to protect wetlands across the UAE - and the diverse species that inhabit them - will be developed at a strategic meeting next month.
UAE Energy Strategy 2050
The UAE Energy Strategy 2050 aims to triple the contribution of the renewable energy and invest AED 150 to AED 200 billion by 2030 to meet the country’s increasing demand for energy as a result of a rapidly growing economy.
Average person in UAE
Compare the average person in Greece to the average person in the UAE
UAE mangroves the largest in the Gulf, study finds
Analysis of satellite images acquired from the King Abdul-Aziz City for Science and Technology recently published in Environmental Monitoring and Assessment show that the UAE is now home to nearly 50 per cent of all mangroves in the region. Moreover, the mangrove coverage in the Emirates has nearly doubled.
Tens of thousands of mangroves to be planted across the UAE
Tens of thousands of mangroves will be planted and coral gardens cultivated in a bid to reduce the impact of climate change.
UAE's mission impossible: Cooling the desert
From Reuters news service. 2011
Why the UAE's mangroves are so important — and how to save them
Mangroves are estimated to cover more than 150 square kilometres of the UAE's coastline, acting as a "green lung" for big cities such as Abu Dhabi and Dubai, while also providing habit for wildlife and recreation grounds for humans.
GeoDubai
Create a free account and then request access to the data you are looking for.
The UAE is on its way to becoming a hub for plastic recycling
From The National