ASD Libraries: Global Issues in Action: Racism in Healthcare

Recommended Databases

Britannica School This link opens in a new window
Britannica School is a general encyclopedia that's useful for all subjects. Choose your level: elementary, middle, or high.
New York Times - School Pass This link opens in a new window
Use this link to set up your access to ASD's New York Times subscription.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Find overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of today's important social issues. Citations export directly into Noodletools.
Global Issues This link opens in a new window
Provides a global perspective, integrating news, global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics, and more. Citations export directly into Noodletools.
Proquest This link opens in a new window
A large, multi-subject database. Citations export directly into Noodletools.

A to Z Databases
This link will take you to all of the databases that the ASD libraries subscribe to. For login information, see the secure document below.
ASD Databases Login Information
You must be signed in to your ASD account to view these passwords.

Many People of Color Worry Good Health Care Is Tied to Their Appearance
Many people from racial and ethnic minority groups brace themselves for insults and judgments before medical appointments, according to a new survey of patients that reaffirms the prevalence of racial discrimination in the U.S. health system.
Racism and Health
From the American Public Health Association

The race-based inequalities in health insurance and health outcomes :

Minority Health Disparities | Michelle's Story :

TED Talk: David R. Williams - How Racism Makes Us SIck :

If You're Not White It's Harder To Get Mental Health Care :

Cancer Health Disparities | Did You Know? :

Noodletools This link opens in a new window
NoodleTools is an online research management platform that helps you evaluate information, build accurate citations, archive source material, take notes, outline topics, and prepare to write. Sign in with Google.

Noodletools Help
This guide will answer all of your questions about how to use Noodletools.

Destiny Library Catalog
Look for library books related to your topic. When you get to the catalog, don't forget to sign in!
Sora
Follow this link or download the SoraApp to access the library's ebook collection. Sign in with Google.

Birth/Maternal Health

Our Black maternal health crisis is an American tragedy
From the American Medical Association
Working Together to Reduce Black Maternal Mortality
From the CDC.
Beyoncé, Serena Williams open up about potentially fatal childbirths, a problem especially for black mothers
This article highlights the racial disparities that exists in healthcare where it is thought to be caused by the disregard to medical complaints made by black patients more frequently than they do for white patients.

Racism as a Public Health Issue

102 - What Does It Mean to Call Racism a Public Health Issue? :

COVID-19 and Race

One reason why coronavirus hits Black people the hardest :

COVID-19 Racial Disparities | Inside The Outbreak | Associated Press :

Their communities are deserted by pharmacies. Advocates fear this will lead to inequitable vaccine access
An article from CNN about COVID 19 vaccine equity in poorer underserved communities and neighborhoods.
A Black Doctor alleged racist treatment before dying of COVID-19
An article from the Washington Post on how a COVID-sick doctor in need for medication was racially mistreated.

Medical Experimentation without Consent

It's Not Just About Tuskegee: The History of African Americans and Medicine :

A Generation of Bad Blood
"New research suggests a strong link between the public revelation of the Tuskegee study and poor health outcomes for black men." From the Atlantic in 2016.
The Puerto Rico Pill Trials
From PBS: The American Experience

This guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike license.