Skip to Main Content

Human Anatomy: Genes, Proteins, and Tissue

Recommended Databases

A to Z Databases
This link will take you to all of the databases that the ASD libraries subscribe to. For login information, see the secure document below.
ASD Databases Login Information
You must be signed in to your ASD account to view these passwords.

Britannica School This link opens in a new window
This is a great place to start to get basic information on your topic.
Proquest This link opens in a new window
A large, multi-subject database. Citations export directly into Noodletools.
New York Times - School Pass This link opens in a new window
Use this link to set up your access to ASD's New York Times subscription.

Digital Magazines

These magazines are available through the Sora app. Look for back issues as well.

Sora Magazines
Follow this link or download the SoraApp to access the library's digital magazine collection. Sign in with Google.
Science magazines in Sora

Lessons

Recommended Websites

DNA

What is DNA
From the National Library of Medicine
DEOXYRIBONUCLEIC ACID (DNA)
From the National Human Genome Research Institute

Proteins

What are proteins and what do they do?
From the National Library of Medicine
Biochemistry, Protein Synthesis
From the National Library of Medicine

Cells

What is a cell?
From the National Library of Medicine
Organelles
From the National Human Genome Research Institute

Tissues

Body Tissue
From the National Cancer Institute
Tissues, organs, & organ systems
From Khan Academy

Organs

Organ
Definition from the National Human Genome Research Institute
Tissues, organs, & organ systems
From Khan Academy

Open-Access Databases - Science

Google Scholar
"Google Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines."
ResearchGate
"ResearchGate is a European commercial social networking site for scientists and researchers to share papers, ask and answer questions, and find collaborators." Many studies are available free by contacting the authors through ResearchGate.
Core
"The world’s largest collection of open access research papers."
Semantic Scholar
"A free, AI-powered research tool for scientific literature."
Academia.Edu
"Academia is a platform for sharing academic research." Create a free account with Google.
Directory of Open Access Journals
This "database contains over 16 500 peer-reviewed open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts and humanities."
Science Open
"ScienceOpen is a freely accessible search and discovery platform that puts research in context."
Scientific Research Publishing
"Scientific Research Publishing (SCIRP) is one of the largest Open Access journal publishers."
Digital Commons Network
"The Digital Commons Network brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide."
Intech Open
"The world's leading publisher of Open Access books."

Noodletools

Noodletools This link opens in a new window
NoodleTools is an online research management platform that helps you evaluate information, build accurate citations, archive source material, take notes, outline topics, and prepare to write. Sign in with Google.

Noodletools Help
This guide will answer all of your questions about how to use Noodletools.

Ebooks

Hemophilia by Randall McPartland
Call Number: Sora
ISBN: 9781502609458
Publication Date: 2015
This book describes the condition and the genetic causes behind it and follows researchers on their path to scientific discovery.
What You Can Do about Sickle Cell Disease by Monique Vescia; Alvin Silverstein; Virginia Silverstein
Call Number: Sora
ISBN: 9780766070417
Publication Date: 2015-07-30
This text explains a rather complex and potentially deadly condition through case studies and interviews, and presents the most current research and treatments.

Creative Commons License

This guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike license.

Libguide Creator

Contact me if you have suggestions for or questions about this guide!

Linda Hoiseth

High School Librarian

lhoiseth@asdubai.org

Twitter: @lhoiseth