ASD Libraries: Human Anatomy: Reproductive Health

Assignment Information

Recommended Databases

Britannica School This link opens in a new window
Britannica School is a general encyclopedia that's useful for all subjects. Choose your level: elementary, middle, or high.
CultureGrams This link opens in a new window
Reference resource for reliable cultural information on the countries of the world.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Find overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of today's important social issues. Citations export directly into Noodletools.
Global Issues This link opens in a new window
Provides a global perspective, integrating news, global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics, and more. Citations export directly into Noodletools.
Proquest This link opens in a new window
A large, multi-subject database. Citations export directly into Noodletools.

A to Z Databases
This link will take you to all of the databases that the ASD libraries subscribe to. For login information, see the secure document below.
ASD Databases Login Information
You must be signed in to your ASD account to view these passwords.

IVF

Should you be able to select for preferential genes?

Designer Babies
Log in to the Opposing Viewpoints database to read this article and get a good background understanding of this topic.
In Vitro Gametogenesis and the Creation of ‘Designer Babies’
From the Cambridge Quarterly of Healthcare Ethics journal. Log in to Proquest to access.
Fear of dystopian change should not blind us to the potential of gene editing
Log in to the Opposing Viewpoints database to read this article.
Adopt a moratorium on heritable genome editing
From Nature magazine
CCR5-Δ32 biology, gene editing, and warnings for the future of CRISPR-Cas9 as a human and humane gene editing tool
From the journal Cell and Bioscience. Log in to Proquest to access.

Abortion

Should abortion be illegal in the US?

Pregnancy
Log in to Britannica to read this article.
More than half of US abortions are by pill.
From the USA Today newspaper. Log in to Global Issues to read this article.
Overturning Roe Is the First Step to Resolving Reproductive Rights
Log in to Opposing Viewpoints to read this article.
PUTTING THE FETUS FIRST - LEGAL REGULATION, MOTHERHOOD, AND PREGNANCY
From the Michigan Journal of Gender and Law. Access by signing in to Proquest
When Does Personhood Begin?
"Howard A. Schneiderman Professor of Biology Scott Gilbert admits he can't answer the question he poses at the start of his popular talk. However, he adds with "absolute certainty" that there is also "no consensus among scientists.""

Search for Books

Destiny Library Catalog
Look for library books related to your topic. When you get to the catalog, don't forget to sign in!
Sora
Follow this link or download the SoraApp to access the library's ebook collection. Sign in with Google.

Artificial Insemination

Should single mothers be able to have babies without a partner?

Artificial Insemination
This background article is from Britannica. Log in with the school password to read it.
Unwed Motherhood Is a More Serious Problem than Teenage Pregnancy
Excerpted from The Age of Unwed Mothers: Is Teen Pregnancy the Problem? by Maggie Gallagher (New York: Institute for American Values, 1999). You must sign in to the Opposing Viewpoints database to view this article.
Children Need Fathers to Provide Stability and Act as Role Models
An opinion piece in Opposing Viewpoints. You need to log in with the database password to see this article.
Increased health risks of children with single mothers: the impact of socio-economic and environmental factors
From the European Journal of Public Health
The Rise in Single-Mother Families and Children’s Cognitive Development: Evidence From Three British Birth Cohorts
From the Society for Research in Child Development

Abstinence

Is teaching abstinence an effective way to prevent teenage pregnancy and stop the spread of STI?

Abstinence-Only Programs Delay Teen Sex
Log in to Opposing Viewpoints to read this, as well as the opposite opinion.
Abstinence-Only-Until-Marriage: An Updated Review of U.S. Policies and Programs and Their Impact
From the Journal of Adolescent Health
The failure of abstinence-only education: minors have a right to honest talk about sex
From Columbia Journal of Gender and Law. You must sign in to Opposing Viewpoints to access this article.
Effectiveness of Abstinence-only Intervention in Middle School Teens
From the Academic Journal of Health Behavior. Log in to Proquest to access this article.

Sex Education

Should sex education be taught in schools?

Sex Education
This is a background document that explains the different sides of the issue. Log in to Opposing Viewpoints to read it.
Re-Examining the Evidence for School-Based Comprehensive Sex Education: A Global Research Review
From the journal Issues in Law and Medicine. Access this by signing in to Proquest.
Sex Education in the Spotlight: What Is Working? Systematic Review
From International Journal of Environmental Research and Public Health. Log in to Proquest to access.
Sex Education in Schools Does Not Reduce Rates of Teen Pregnancy
This article is from the Opposing Viewpoints database.

Stem Cell Research

Should stem cell research be carried out?

Stem Cell
This article from Britannica gives background info about stem cells.
Stem Cell Research Plays a Critical Role in Medicine
Log in to Opposing Viewpoints to access this article that was published in The Abortion Controversy.
Embryonic Stem Cell Research Destroys Human Lives
From a Catholic newspaper. Access by logging in to the Opposing Viewpoints database.
A natural stem cell therapy? How novel findings and biotechnology clarify the ethics of stem cell research
From the Journal of Medical Ethics. Access by logging in to Proquest.
Human embryonic stem-cell research: science and ethics
From American Scientist Magazine. Log in to Opposing Viewpoints to read this article.

Noodletools

Noodletools This link opens in a new window
NoodleTools is an online research management platform that helps you evaluate information, build accurate citations, archive source material, take notes, outline topics, and prepare to write. Sign in with Google.

Noodletools Help
This guide will answer all of your questions about how to use Noodletools.

Male Pill

Should males take the pill for birth control instead of females?

Male "Pill" Blocks Sperm Enzyme
This is one page of an article that was published in the journal called Science. It has an explanation of how the male pill works.
Animal Study of Male Birth Control Pill Shows Promise
From the Opposing Viewpoints database. You'll need to log in to see this.

Male Birth Control Pill Shows Promise
This is a public relations statement issued by the company who manufactures this pill. Retrieved from Proquest.

Male birth control pill nearer: Drug 99% effective with no side effects; human trials to start
This article from the Toronto Star was published in March of 2022. You must be signed in to Proquest to access it.
A Male Birth Control Pill Violates Biological and Social Imperatives
Originally published on Scienceblogs.com. Available by logging in to Opposing Viewpoints using the database password.

Pink Tax

Should women’s health products be subject to municipal or federal tax?

Louisiana to exempt 'pink tax' on feminine hygiene products, diapers: State to exempt 'pink tax' on feminine hygiene products
Log in to Proquest to read this newspaper article.
Women sound alarm over 'discriminatory pink tax'.
From the Jordan Times. Log in to Global Issues in Context to access it.
'Tampon Tax' Repeal Benefits Women But Comes At A Cost To States
From NPR's Planet Money podcast
Hygiene Products Abolishing Tax Can Reduce Period Poverty.
From the New Nation (Bangladesh). Log in to Global Issues in Context to read it.
A meta-analysis of interventions to reduce repeat pregnancy and birth among teenagers
From the Journal of Adolescent and Family Health. Log in to Proquest to read it.

Birth Control

Should teenagers be able to take the birth control pill?

Why Easier Access to Birth Control is More Necessary Than Ever
Log in to Opposing Viewpoints to read this opinion article.
The Birth Control Pill Benefits Women
Log in to Opposing Viewpoints to read this opinion piece.
Doctors: Think twice about 'the pill' for teen birth control.
This story from CNN is available by logging in to Opposing Viewpoints.

Creative Commons License

This guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike license.

Libguide Creator

Contact me if you have suggestions for or questions about this guide!

Linda Hoiseth

High School Librarian

lhoiseth@asdubai.org

Twitter: @lhoiseth