ASD Libraries: Human Anatomy: Digestive System

General Information

Digestive System
From Science Online

Alimentary Canal

"The whole passage along which food passes through the body from mouth to anus during digestion"

Slideshow: See how your digestive system works
From the Mayo Clinic
General Structure of the Digestive System
From the National Cancer Institute
Digestive
From the Histology Guide. "This topic covers the structure and function of the stomach, small and large intestines, and other tissues important for digestion: the liver, pancreas and gall bladder. After following this topic you should know how the structure of the stomach, small and large intestine varies, and how this is related to function, the roles of the liver, pancreas and gall bladder in digestion, and how their structure is related to function."
Study Guide: Histology of the Gastrointestinal System
From Southern Illinois University
Human Digestive System
From Britannica School. Log in with the school's username and password.
GI Image Index
From Southern Illinois University. "ted enlargement. The images are arranged in roughly descending order, from mouth (at top of page) to colon (at bottom). "

Layers of the Canal

Mucosa

Mucosa
From the Cleveland Clinic

Submucosa

Submucosa
From Libre Texts

Muscle Layer ( Muscularis Externa)

"The smooth muscle responsible for movements of the digestive tract is arranged in two layers, an inner circular layer and an outer longitudinal layer. The myenteric plexus is between the two muscle layers."

Adventitia/Serosa

"Above the diaphragm, the outermost layer of the digestive tract is a connective tissue called adventitia. Below the diaphragm, it is called serosa."

Small Intestine

Organ Level

Small and Large Intestine
From the National Cancer Institute

Cellular Level

Small Intestine
From Southern Illinois University

Protein Level

Chemical Digestion and Absorption: A Closer Look
From Lumen Learning

Function

Small Intestine
Slide show: See how your digestive system works. From the Mayo Clinic

Disease

Small Intestine Disorders
From Medline Plus - the National Library of Medicine

Accessory Organs: Liver and Pancreas

Organ Level

Accessory Organs
From the National Cancer Institute

Cellular Level

Liver
From Southern Illinois University

Function

Accessory Organs in Digestion: The Liver, Pancreas, and Gallbladder
From Hostos Community College
Pancreas, liver and gallbladder
Slide show: See how your digestive system works. From the Mayo Clinic

Disease

Liver Disease
From the National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases
Pancreatitis
From the Mayo Clinic

Mouth

Organ Level

Mouth
From the National Cancer Institute

Cellular Level

Oral Mucosa
From Health Engine

Function

Mouth
from the Cleveland Clinic
Mouth and Salivary Glands
Slideshow from the Mayo Clinic

Disease

Mouth Disorders
From Medline Plus - the National Library of Medicine
Mouth Cancer
From the Mayo Clinic

Esophagus / Oesophagus

Organ Level

Overview of the Esophagus
From the Merck Manual
Pharynx & Esophagus
From the National Cancer Institute

Protein Level

Esophagus
From Southern Illinois University

Cellular Level

Esophageal mucosal defense mechanisms
From Nature.com

Function

Esophagus
From the Mayo Clinic Slideshow - See How Your Digestive System Works

Disease

Esophagus Disorders
From Medline Plus - the National Library of Medicine

Stomach

Organ Level

The Stomach
from the Merck Manual
Stomach
From the National Cancer Institute

Cellular Level

Stomach
From Southern Illinois University

Protein Level

Digestive Enzymes: Types and Function
From VeryWellHealth

Function

Stomach
From the Cleveland Clinic
Stomach
Slide show: See how your digestive system works. From the Mayo Clinic.

Disease

Stomach Disorders
From MedlinePlus - the National Library of Medicine

Large Intestine

Organ Level

Small and Large Intestine
From the National Cancer Institute

Cellular Level

Lower Tract: Appendix, Colon, Rectum, and Anal Canal
From Southern Illinois University

Protein Level

Salt and water absorption in the human colon: a modern appraisal
From BMJ Journals

Function

Large Intestine
Slide show: See how your digestive system works. From the Mayo Clinic.

Disease

Colonic Diseases
From Medline Plus - the National Library of Medicine

Noodletools

Noodletools This link opens in a new window
NoodleTools is an online research management platform that helps you evaluate information, build accurate citations, archive source material, take notes, outline topics, and prepare to write. Sign in with Google.

Noodletools Help
This guide will answer all of your questions about how to use Noodletools.

Books in the ASD Library

How the Body Works by DK
Call Number: 612 HOW
ISBN: 9781465429933
Publication Date: 2016
"Examines all the complex processes that keep our bodies alive and thriving, from the basic building blocks of the body--our cells--to skin, muscles, and bones and the ways in which our many parts work together."
The Way We Work by David Macaulay
Call Number: 612 MAC
ISBN: 0618233784
Publication Date: 2008
A visual exploration of the inner workings of the human body that uses close-ups, cross-sections, and perspectives to look at the different body systems and how they function.

Search for Books

Destiny Library Catalog
Look for library books related to your topic. When you get to the catalog, don't forget to sign in!
Sora
Follow this link or download the SoraApp to access the library's ebook collection. Sign in with Google.

Recommended Databases

A to Z Databases
This link will take you to all of the databases that the ASD libraries subscribe to. For login information, see the secure document below.
ASD Databases Login Information
You must be signed in to your ASD account to view these passwords.

Britannica School This link opens in a new window
This is a great place to start to get basic information on your topic.
Proquest This link opens in a new window
A large, multi-subject database. Citations export directly into Noodletools.
New York Times - School Pass This link opens in a new window
Use this link to set up your access to ASD's New York Times subscription.

Recommended Websites for Health

Food and Drug Administration
Use the search engine within this site for a wide range of information.
Teens Health from Nemours
This site has trustworthy information on lots of different topics.
Medline Plus - Teen Health
This excellent site is sponsored by the National Institute of Health. Use the in-site search engine.
Tween and Teen Health - Mayo Clinic
This site is from a very reputable clinic in the United States. Follow the links near the bottom of the page, or use the search engine within the page to find excellent information on almost any medical or health issue.
New York Times
Use the search engine within this site to find NYT articles about your topic. You can create an account by using the ASD link in the databases box.
Healthfinder
This is a health database sponsored by the US government.

Instructions

Creative Commons License

This guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike license.

Libguide Creator

Contact me if you have suggestions for or questions about this guide!

Linda Hoiseth

High School Librarian

lhoiseth@asdubai.org

Twitter: @lhoiseth