ASD Libraries: Human Anatomy: Cardiovascular System

Recommended Databases

A to Z Databases
This link will take you to all of the databases that the ASD libraries subscribe to. For login information, see the secure document below.
ASD Databases Login Information
You must be signed in to your ASD account to view these passwords.

Britannica School This link opens in a new window
Britannica School is a general encyclopedia that's useful for all subjects. Choose your level: elementary, middle, or high.
Proquest This link opens in a new window
A large, multi-subject database. Citations export directly into Noodletools.

HOW THE HEART WORKS
From the National Heart, Lung, and Blood institute.
Cardiovascular System by Innerbody Research
Use the Anatomy Explorer to see illustrations and animations of different parts of the cardiovascular system.
Heart and Circulatory System
From TeensHealth by Nemours.
How Your Heart Works
From the British Heart Foundation

Britannica School This link opens in a new window
Britannica School is a general encyclopedia that's useful for all subjects. Choose your level: elementary, middle, or high.

Heart Disease Health Center
From WebMD
Heart Disease
From the Mayo Clinic
Diseases and Conditions
Learn about symptoms, causes, and treatments of various diseases and conditions. From the Mayo Clinic.
Symptom Checker
From the Mayo Clinic. Click on one or more symptoms to discover possible causes.
Osmosis
This site has useful videos that might help your diagnosis. You need to set up a free trial (as a medical student) to access it.

Destiny Library Catalog
Look for library books related to your topic. When you get to the catalog, don't forget to sign in!
Sora
Follow this link or download the SoraApp to access the library's ebook collection. Sign in with Google.

NCBI: National Center for Biotechnology Information
"The National Center for Biotechnology Information advances science and health by providing access to biomedical and genomic information."
PubMed Central
"PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM)."
Science Direct
Many of the articles on this site are behind a paywall. If you find something you think will be helpful, contact Ms. Hoiseth to see if she has access.
MedRxiv
"Medrxiv is an Internet site distributing unpublished manuscripts about health sciences. It distributes complete, but unpublished manuscripts in the areas of medicine, clinical research, and related health sciences without charge to the reader." (Wikipedia)
BioRxiv
The preprint server for biology.
PLOS
PLOS is a nonprofit, Open Access publisher empowering researchers to accelerate progress in science and medicine by leading a transformation in research communication.
Wiley Open Access Journals
"Wiley Open Access publishes authoritative peer reviewed open access journals across many research disciplines."

Noodletools This link opens in a new window
NoodleTools is an online research management platform that helps you evaluate information, build accurate citations, archive source material, take notes, outline topics, and prepare to write. Sign in with Google.

Noodletools Help
This guide will answer all of your questions about how to use Noodletools.

Proquest This link opens in a new window
A large, multi-subject database. Citations export directly into Noodletools.

Search with the database Proquest to find scholarly sources.

Type in your diagnosis and maybe add the terms symptoms and/or treatments.
Once you get your search results, limit to Full text and Peer reviewed
Scroll down to Publication date and choose Last 10 years

Hint: Proquest will generate a citation for you.

ASD Databases Login Information
You must be signed in to your ASD account to view these passwords.

This guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike license.

Contact me if you have suggestions for or questions about this guide!

Linda Hoiseth

High School Librarian

lhoiseth@asdubai.org

Twitter: @lhoiseth