Unit 2 - Era 1 - Introduction to Geography and Our World - ASD Libraries at American School of Dubai

Recommended Databases

A to Z Databases
This link will take you to all of the databases that the ASD libraries subscribe to. For login information, see the secure document below.
ASD Databases Login Information
You must be signed in to your ASD account to view these passwords.

Britannica School This link opens in a new window
Britannica School is a general encyclopedia that's useful for all subjects. Choose your level: elementary, middle, or high.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Find overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of today's important social issues. Citations export directly into Noodletools.
Credo Source This link opens in a new window
Credo Source is a one-stop research platform combining citable reference content with instructional videos and tutorials, as well as access to other subscription databases. Credo Source is a great starting point for research.
Proquest This link opens in a new window
A large, multi-subject database. Citations export directly into Noodletools.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. Citations export directly to Noodletools.
New York Times - School Pass This link opens in a new window
Use this link to set up your access to ASD's New York Times subscription.
Financial Times - Create Account This link opens in a new window
Use this link to create your Financial Times account.

Destiny Library Catalog
Look for library books related to your topic. When you get to the catalog, don't forget to sign in!
Sora
Follow this link or download the SoraApp to access the library's ebook collection. Sign in with Google.

What does it mean to be human?
From the Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History
What Makes Us Human?
Among animals, humans are unique, but why? From National Geographic.
Focus on function helps identify the changes that made us human
"However, it can be hard to tell which of the many small genetic differences between us and chimps have been significant to our evolution."
What Makes Us Human? Answers from Evolutionary Anthropology
From the journal Evolutionary Anthropology

Noodletools This link opens in a new window
NoodleTools is an online research management platform that helps you evaluate information, build accurate citations, archive source material, take notes, outline topics, and prepare to write. Sign in with Google.

Noodletools Help
This guide will answer all of your questions about how to use Noodletools.