ASD Libraries: Introduction to Geography and Our World: The Geographer's World

Timeline JS

It's possible the library has books about your country. Search the catalog to find out!

Destiny Library Catalog
Look for library books related to your topic. When you get to the catalog, don't forget to sign in!

BBC - Country Profiles
Guides to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions. Also included are audio and video clips from BBC archives.
World Fact Book
Political, geographic, economic, and sociological summaries organized by country. Published by the CIA.
Library of Congress' Country Studies
Description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world from the US Library of Congress.
World Bank - Countries
The World Bank Group works in more than 170 countries, working with partners in the public and private sectors in their efforts to end poverty and tackle some of the most pressing development challenges.
World Data Atlas
World and regional statistics, national data, maps, rankings.
Population Pyramid
Look at a population pyramid for your country.

These databases are listed in the order of usefulness for this assignment. Start at the top!

CultureGrams This link opens in a new window
Reference resource for reliable cultural information on the countries of the world.
Britannica School This link opens in a new window
Britannica School is a general encyclopedia that's useful for all subjects. Choose your level: elementary, middle, or high.
Global Issues This link opens in a new window
Provides a global perspective, integrating news, global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics, and more. Citations export directly into Noodletools.
Modern World History This link opens in a new window
Offers a comprehensive look at world history from the mid-15th century to the present. Citations export directly into Noodletools. Sign in with Google SSO.
Issues and Controversies in History This link opens in a new window
Use primary sources to analyze great conflicts in U.S. and world history. Citations export directly to Noodletools. Sign on with Google SSO
Proquest This link opens in a new window
A large, multi-subject database. Citations export directly into Noodletools.

A to Z Databases
This link will take you to all of the databases that the ASD libraries subscribe to. For login information, see the secure document below.
ASD Databases Login Information
You must be signed in to your ASD account to view these passwords.

Noodletools This link opens in a new window
NoodleTools is an online research management platform that helps you evaluate information, build accurate citations, archive source material, take notes, outline topics, and prepare to write. Sign in with Google.

Noodletools Help
This guide will answer all of your questions about how to use Noodletools.

Bouncy Maps
"A regular map shows you how large countries are. Bouncy Maps take a different angle. They transform the map to show how large countries would be if not area were the key, but another criterium. For each dataset different countries will be large or small. Bouncy Maps visualize these new proportions."
ArcGIS
You can also access ArcGIS through the Google waffle.
The True Size Of
"It is hard to represent our spherical world on flat piece of paper. Cartographers use something called a "projection" to morph the globe into 2D map. . . . We hope teachers will use it to show their students just how big the world actually is."

Find websites that originate from different countries by including their country domain in your Google search.

For example, to find sites that originated in the UAE, add this to your search:

site:.ae

This guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike license.

Contact me if you have suggestions for or questions about this guide!

Linda Hoiseth

High School Librarian

lhoiseth@asdubai.org

Twitter: @lhoiseth