ASD Libraries: Introduction to Geography and Our World: Big Era 3

Unit Information

Cradles of Civilization
Map activity by ESRI.
ESRI Map of Ancient River Civilizations
Big Era 3 Text

Useful Websites

Guns, Germs, and Steel, part 1
What Was the Neolithic Revolution?
From National Geographic
Neolithic Revolution
From History.com
How farming innovations can feed the world and protect the planet
From the World Economic Forum
What Is a Civilization, Anyway?
The Origins and Sequences of Civilizations
From the journal Comparative Civilizations Review
Plant and Animal Domestication Centers
From the Florida Museum
Domestication
From: An Introduction to Anthropology: the Biological and Cultural Evolution of Humans.

Author: Bill Belcher, LuAnn Wandsnider, Phil Geib, Taylor Livingston
Publisher: University of Nebraska
Date Added: 04/01/2021
Evolution, consequences and future of plant and animal domestication
From Nature magazine
Where our food crops come from
From CIAT (International Center for Tropical Agriculture)
Curiosity Stream: Deep Time History (series) Episode 1: The Rise of Civilizations
Ask your teacher for login information.
How Neolithic farming sowed the seeds of modern inequality 10,000 years ago
"The prehistoric shift towards cultivation began our preoccupation with hierarchy and growth – and even changed how we perceive the passage of time." From The Guardian
The Code of Hammurabi
From the Avalon Project at Yale Law School.
How the Ancient Code of Hammurabi Reveals a Society Both Similar and Alien to Ours
From Discover magazine.
Life in Mesopotamia
From the Oriental Institute at the University of Chicago. Includes sections on farming, law, and the role of women.
Beautiful Babylon: Jewel of the Ancient World
From the National Geographic History Magazine. "Ruled by Hammurabi, restored by Nebuchadrezzar, conquered by Cyrus—this city in the heart of Mesopotamia was both desired and despised, placing it at the center stage of the dawn of history."
Who was Hammurabi
From the National Geographic History Magazine
Catalhoyuk: The First Steps to City Life
From the National Geographic History Magazine.Turn to page 14 of this magazine in Sora.
Early Agriculture and the Rise of Civilization
From Encyclopedia.com
Agriculture in the Fertile Crescent & Mesopotamia
From the World History Encyclopedia

Search for Books

Destiny Library Catalog
Look for library books related to your topic. When you get to the catalog, don't forget to sign in!
Sora
Follow this link or download the SoraApp to access the library's ebook collection. Sign in with Google.

Useful Videos

Library Lessons

Noodletools

Noodletools This link opens in a new window
NoodleTools is an online research management platform that helps you evaluate information, build accurate citations, archive source material, take notes, outline topics, and prepare to write. Sign in with Google.

Noodletools Help
This guide will answer all of your questions about how to use Noodletools.

Suggested Subscription Databases

These databases are listed in the order of usefulness for this assignment. Start at the top!

Britannica School This link opens in a new window
Britannica School is a general encyclopedia that's useful for all subjects. Choose your level: elementary, middle, or high.
Proquest This link opens in a new window
A large, multi-subject database. Citations export directly into Noodletools.

A to Z Databases
This link will take you to all of the databases that the ASD libraries subscribe to. For login information, see the secure document below.
ASD Databases Login Information
You must be signed in to your ASD account to view these passwords.

Books in the ASD Library

There are a number of books available to you on a cart in the library, including these:

Farm by Ned B. Halley; Geoff Brightling (Photographer)
Call Number: 630 HAL
ISBN: 067988078X
Publication Date: 1996
Take a close-up look at the story of farming.
Ancient Agriculture by Michael Woods; Mary B. Woods
Call Number: 630 WOO
ISBN: 0822529955
Publication Date: 1999
Discusses agricultural technology in various cultures from the Stone Age to 476 A.D., including China, Egypt, Mesoamerica, and Greece.
The Ancient near Eastern World by Amanda H. Podany; Marni McGee
Call Number: 935 POD
ISBN: 0195161599
Publication Date: 2005
What do the wheel, the law, and belief in a single god have in common? All of these ideas first came to people who lived in the ancient Near East.

Creative Commons License

This guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike license.

Libguide Creator

Contact me if you have suggestions for or questions about this guide!

Linda Hoiseth

High School Librarian

lhoiseth@asdubai.org

Twitter: @lhoiseth

Introduction to Geography and Our World: Big Era 3

Compelling Question

Farming and the Emergence of Complex Societies - 10,000 to 1,000 BCE

How did the domestication of plants and animals change humankind?