Unit 4 - Civilizations Inquiry - Introduction to Geography and Our World - ASD Libraries at American School of Dubai

Recommended Databases

Britannica School This link opens in a new window
Britannica School is a general encyclopedia that's useful for all subjects. Choose your level: elementary, middle, or high.
Credo Source This link opens in a new window
Credo Source is a one-stop research platform combining citable reference content with instructional videos and tutorials, as well as access to other subscription databases. Credo Source is a great starting point for research.
CultureGrams This link opens in a new window
Reference resource for reliable cultural information on the countries of the world.
Proquest This link opens in a new window
A large, multi-subject database. Citations export directly into Noodletools.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. Citations export directly to Noodletools.

A to Z Databases
This link will take you to all of the databases that the ASD libraries subscribe to. For login information, see the secure document below.
ASD Databases Login Information
You must be signed in to your ASD account to view these passwords.

Early

First source citation type: Website/Webpage

Ban-po-ts'un, East Asia (Banpo)

Required: Read the first source and use it to choose your four supporting questions.

READ THIS FIRST: Ban-po-ts-un
Citation: "Big Era Three." World History for Us All, UCLA Department of History, whfua.history.ucla.edu/eras/era3.php. Accessed 3 Feb. 2025.
Banpo Site
You must be logged in to Britannica to read this.
Banpo
From the Britannica Concise Encyclopedia. You must be logged in to Credo to read it.
New Archaeobotanic Data for the Study of the Origins of Agriculture in China
From the journal Current Anthropology
China Timeline
Click on the Neolithic Period link.
Reimagining the Silk Road
For Noodletools: webpage/book
Banpo
A Critical Assessment of Early Agriculture in East Asia, with emphasis on Lower Yangzte Rice Domestication
For Noodletools: website/journal
The Chinese Neolithic
For Noodletools: website/book
ISBN 978-1-139-44170-4
The Formation of Chinese Cvilization
For Noodletools: website/book
ISBN 978-0-300-09382-7
Earliest times to 4000 BCE: The Beginnings of Human Society
For Noodletools: Website/Webpage

Jericho, Southwest Asia

Required: Read the first source and use it to choose your four supporting questions.

READ THIS FIRST: Jericho
Citation: "Big Era Three." World History for Us All, UCLA Department of History, whfua.history.ucla.edu/eras/era3.php. Accessed 3 Feb. 2025.

Earliest times to 4000 BCE: The Beginnings of Human Society
For Noodletools: Website/Webpage
Jericho
Tower of Jericho
Tell es-Sultan
CONVENTION CONCERNING THE PROTECTION OF THE WORLD CULTURAL AND NATURAL HERITAGE
For Noodletools: Website/Conference Proceedings (in Advanced)
The Near-Eastern Roots of the Neolithic in South Asia
For Noodletools: Website/Journal Article

Dhar Tichitt, West Africa

Required: Read the first source and use it to choose your four supporting questions.

READ THIS FIRST: Dhar Tichitt
Citation: "Big Era Three." World History for Us All, UCLA Department of History, whfua.history.ucla.edu/eras/era3.php. Accessed 3 Feb. 2025.
Coping with uncertainty: Neolithic life in the Dhar Tichitt-Walata, Mauritania, ( ca. 4000–2300 BP)
For Noodletools: Website/Journal
Spatial Organization and Socio-Economic Differentiation at the Dhar Tichitt Center of Dakhlet el Atrouss I (Southeastern Mauritania)
For Noodletools: Website/Journal
The Ghana Empire
While primarily focused on the later Ghana Empire, this resource provides useful context on how earlier traditions such as Dhar Tichitt contributed to state formation in West Africa.
Dhar Tichitt
The Origins of the Empire of Ghana
For Noodletools: Website/Dissertation or Thesis
Early agriculture in sub-Saharan Africa to c. 500 ce
For Noodletools: Website/Book

Kuk, Papua New Guinea

Required: Read the first source and use it to choose your four supporting questions.

READ THIS FIRST: Kuk
Citation: "Big Era Three." World History for Us All, UCLA Department of History, whfua.history.ucla.edu/eras/era3.php. Accessed 3 Feb. 2025.
Kuk Early Agricultural Site
For Noodletools: Website/Webpage
Ten Thousand Years of Cultivation at Kuk Swamp in the Highlands of Papua New Guinea
For Noodletools: Website/Book
Origins of Agriculture at Kuk Swamp in the Highlands of New Guinea
For Noodletools: Website/Journal
Kuk Swamp
Kuk Swamp: Early Agriculture in Papua New Guinea

Search for Books

Destiny Library Catalog
Look for library books related to your topic. When you get to the catalog, don't forget to sign in!
Sora
Follow this link or download the SoraApp to access the library's ebook collection. Sign in with Google.

Library Lessons

Middle

First source citation type: Website/Video Clip (online)

Gobekli Tepe

Required: Watch the first source and use it to choose your four supporting questions.

WATCH THIS FIRST
Starts at 3:15 Ends at 10:15 seconds
Citation: First Civilizations. 2018. PBS Distribution.
Göbekli Tepe
You must be logged in to Britannica to read this.
Göbekli Tepe
This is a UNESCO World Heritage Site.
Göbekli Tepe

Gobekle Tepe: A Neolithic Site in Southeastern Anatolia
For Noodletools: Website/Book

https://www.academia.edu/8011705/G%C3%B6bekli_Tepe_A_Neolithic_Site_in_Southeastern_Anatolia_

Paradise Found or Common Sense Lost? Göbekli Tepe’s Last Decade as a Pre-Farming Cult Centre
For Noodletools: Website/Journal
Echo from the Past: How Göbekli Tepe is Reshaping Our Understanding of the Neolithic
For Noodletools: Website/Magazine
Last Stand of the Hunter-Gatherers?
For Noodletools: Website/Magazine
Pseudo archaeological Claims
For Noodletools: Website/Blog
(Your project needs to be set to Advanced)

Ashikli Hoyuk

Required: Watch the first source and use it to choose your four supporting questions.

WATCH THIS FIRST
14:27 to 30:15
Citation: First Civilizations. 2018. PBS Distribution.
PIONEER OF A NEW LIFE: AŞIKLI HÖYÜK
"The Society was founded in November 2018 by a group of individuals from diverse backgrounds, who recognize and are interested in archaeology and cultural matters."
Anatolia’s first village Aşıklı Höyük reveals brain surgery
From the Daily Sabah newspaper
Aşıklı Höyük
Aşıklı Höyük: The Generative Evolution of a Central Anatolian PPN Settlement in Regional Context
For Noodletools: Website/Journal
Aşıklı Archaeological Site and the Village of Kızılkaya
For Noodletools: Website/Blog (You need to have your project set to Advanced.)
Constructing Communities: Clustered Neighbourhood Settlements of the Central Anatolian Neolithic ca. 8500–5500 cal. BC
For Noodletools: Website/ Dissertation or Thesis
(Your project must be set to Advanced.)
House Symbolism and Ancestor Cult in the Central Anatolian Neolithic
For Noodletools: Website/ Dissertation or Thesis
(Your project must be set to Advanced.)
In central Cappadocia, Aşıklı Höyüks architecture varied
For Noodletools: Website/ Webpage
Aşıklı Höyük Research Project (Turkey) – İstanbul University
For Noodletools: Website/Webpage

Arslentepe

Required: Watch the first source and use it to choose your four supporting questions.

WATCH THIS FIRST
30:15 to 39:20
Citation: First Civilizations. 2018. PBS Distribution.
Arslantepe Mound
This is a world heritage site.
Arslantepe-Malatya: A Prehistoric and Early Historic Center in Eastern Anatolia
A scholarly study published in a book that discusses findings from excavations at Arslantepe-Malatya.
UNESCO Sites of Türkiye: Arslantepe Archaeological Site and Open Air Museum
"Let's explore this archaeological site together, discovering the signs of the first days when people organized as a state in the world."
Arslantepe
UNESCO adds 6000-year-old 'Lion Hill' in Turkey's Malatya to list
For Noodletools: Website/ Newspaper
The Late Chalcolithic IEB I sequence at Arslantepe. Chronological and cultural remarks from a frontier site
For Noodletools: Website/Journal
Different types of multiethnic societies and different patterns of development and change in the prehistoric Near East
For Noodletools: Website/ Journal Article
The Domestication of Metals: The Rise of Complex Metal Industries in Anatolia
For Noodletools: Website/ Book
Power of Symbols or Symbols of Power? The "long sword" in the Near East and the Aegean in the second millennium BC
For Noodletools: Website/ Journal Article

Ur

Required: Watch the first source and use it to choose your four supporting questions.

WATCH THIS FIRST
39:20 to 53:10
Citation: First Civilizations. 2018. PBS Distribution.
Ur
From the Columbia Encyclopedia. You must be logged in to Credo to read it.

Ur
The Sumerians: Their History, Culture, and Character
For Noodletools: Website/ Book
Archives and Bookkeeping in Southern Mesopotamia during the Ur III period*
For Noodletools: Website/ Journal

The Excavations at Ur
For Noodletools: Website/ Journal

Noodletools

Noodletools This link opens in a new window
NoodleTools is an online research management platform that helps you evaluate information, build accurate citations, archive source material, take notes, outline topics, and prepare to write. Sign in with Google.

Noodletools Help
This guide will answer all of your questions about how to use Noodletools.

Later

First source citation type: Website/Video Clip (online)

Egypt

Required: Read the first source and use it to choose your four supporting questions.

READ THIS FIRST: Egypt
Adapted from: https://www.thegreatcourses.com/courses/history-of-the-ancient-world-a-global-perspective

Citation: Aldrete, Gregory S. "Ancient Egypt: The Gift of the Nile." History of the Ancient World: A Global Perspective, Teaching Company.

Mesopotamia

Required: Read the first source and use it to choose your four supporting questions.

READ THIS FIRST: Mesopotamia
Adapted from: https://www.thegreatcourses.com/courses/history-of-the-ancient-world-a-global-perspective

Citation: Aldrete, Gregory S. "Cultures of the Ancient Near East." History of the Ancient World: A Global Perspective, Teaching Company.

Indus River Valley

Required: Read the first source and use it to choose your four supporting questions.

READ THIS FIRST: Indus Valley
Adapted from: https://www.thegreatcourses.com/courses/history-of-the-ancient-world-a-global-perspective

Citation: Aldrete, Gregory S. "The Lost Civilization of the Indus Valley." History of the Ancient World: A Global Perspective, Teaching Company.
Indus Civilization
From Britannica School. You must be logged in to see it.

China

Required: Read the first source and use it to choose your four supporting questions.

READ THIS FIRST: Ancient China
Adapted from: https://www.thegreatcourses.com/courses/history-of-the-ancient-world-a-global-perspective

Citation: Aldrete, Gregory S. "Civilization Dawns in China: Shang and Zhour." History of the Ancient World: A Global Perspective, Teaching Company.
Shang Dynasty
For Noodletools: Website/Newsletter
(Look at the PDF to see the title of the Newsletter)

Introduction to Geography and Our World: Unit 4 - Civilizations Inquiry

Recommended Databases

Ban-po-ts'un, East Asia (Banpo)

Jericho, Southwest Asia

Dhar Tichitt, West Africa

Kuk, Papua New Guinea

Search for Books

Library Lessons

Gobekli Tepe

Ashikli Hoyuk

Arslentepe

Ur

Noodletools

Egypt

Mesopotamia

Indus River Valley

China

Library Lessons