ASD Libraries: AP Human Geography: ArcGIS StoryMaps

Assignment Information

“ArcGIS StoryMaps helps you tell remarkable stories with custom maps that inform and inspire. A story can effect change, influence opinion, and create awareness—and maps are an integral part of storytelling”.---ESRI.com

Your task will allow you to use state of the art, real world technology to dive deeper into one Advanced Placement Human Geography topic that peaked your interest this year.

Suggested Subscription Databases

These databases will be useful for this assignment.

CultureGrams This link opens in a new window
Reference resource for reliable cultural information on the countries of the world.
Britannica School This link opens in a new window
Britannica School is a general encyclopedia that's useful for all subjects. Choose your level: elementary, middle, or high.
Credo Source This link opens in a new window
Credo Source is a one-stop research platform combining citable reference content with instructional videos and tutorials, as well as access to other subscription databases. Credo Source is a great starting point for research.
Global Issues This link opens in a new window
Provides a global perspective, integrating news, global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics, and more. Citations export directly into Noodletools.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Find overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of today's important social issues. Citations export directly into Noodletools.
Modern World History This link opens in a new window
Offers a comprehensive look at world history from the mid-15th century to the present. Citations export directly into Noodletools. Sign in with Google SSO.
Proquest This link opens in a new window
A large, multi-subject database. Citations export directly into Noodletools.
World History Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
A comprensive open encyclopedia focusing on ancient civilizations.

ArcGIS Living Atlas
A to Z Databases
This link will take you to all of the databases that the ASD libraries subscribe to. For login information, see the secure document below.
ASD Databases Login Information
You must be signed in to your ASD account to view these passwords.

Student Samples

How Bees are beneficial to the environment and our world
This ArcGIS Storymap was made for AP Human Geography in 2024.

StoryMap Examples

Gallery
Examples from the ArcGIS StoryMaps community
Our Favorite Community Stories of 2021
"Ten of the StoryMaps team's favorite stories created by the storytelling community in 2021."
Twin Cities’ communities of color hurt most by lack of trees. A tornado made it worse.
This September 2022 article from the Minneapolis Star-Tribune uses ArcGIS technology to tell the story.
How Deep is Challenger Deep?
"Challenger Deep is the deepest point in the world ocean. Located within the already-deep Mariana Trench in the western Pacific Ocean, the actual deepness of Challenger Deep strains the imagination."

Map and Data Sources

The Sustainable Development Goals Libguide has sources for each of the SDGs. (Use the tabs at the top of the page to find the goal you're looking for.):

Sustainable Development Goals
by Linda Hoiseth Last Updated Oct 15, 2024 468 views this year

ArcGIS Living Atlas of the World
"ArcGIS Living Atlas of the World is the foremost collection of geographic information from around the globe. It includes maps, apps, and data layers to support your work." Be sure to login with your ASD Gmail account.
ArcGIS LIVING ATLAS - INDICATORS OF THE PLANET
Free Satellite Imagery Sources: Zoom In Our Planet
From EOS Data Analytics
National Historical Geographic Information System
"The National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS) provides easy access to summary tables and time series of population, housing, agriculture, and economic data, along with GIS-compatible boundary files, for years from 1790 through the present and for all levels of U.S. census geography, including states, counties, tracts, and blocks."
Walking Together: a digital hub on migration
"Our project starts with the fastest growing and largest immigrant community in the Twin Cities area: the Latinx community. We hope to be able to add other voices and communities to this project as it evolves." - From St. Thomas University in Minnesota
GIS for Climate
Access data and apply spatial analysis to understand patterns of change and risk
GIS for Climate Change
"Fighting the Climate Crisis Together"
ESRI Maps for Public Policy
"This site is dedicated to raising the level of spatial and data literacy used in public policy. We invite you to explore curated content, training, best practices, and datasets that can provide a baseline for your research, analysis, and policy recommendations."
Dynamic World
"Dynamic World is a near realtime 10m resolution global land use land cover dataset, produced using deep learning, freely available and openly licensed."
UAE SDG Data Hub
"The SDG Data Hub is a comprehensive platform that aims to track, monitor, and report milestones and progress towards the implementation of the SDGs in the UAE."

StoryMap Updates

Library Lessons

Noodletools

Noodletools This link opens in a new window
NoodleTools is an online research management platform that helps you evaluate information, build accurate citations, archive source material, take notes, outline topics, and prepare to write. Sign in with Google.

Noodletools Help
This guide will answer all of your questions about how to use Noodletools.

Books in the ASD Library

This Is How We Do It by Matt Lamothe
Call Number: E 305.23 LAM
Publication Date: 2017
Tells the daily activities of seven children from around the world.
Esri Map Book, Volume 35 by ESRI
Call Number: 526 ESR
ISBN: 9781589485860
Publication Date: 2020
Women and GIS
Call Number: 526 ESR
ISBN: 9781589485280
Publication Date: 2019
GIS for Science by Dawn J. Wright (Editor); Christian Harder (Editor); Jared Diamond (Foreword by)
Call Number: 526 GIS
ISBN: 9781589485877
Publication Date: 2020
The ArcGIS Imagery Book by Clint Brown (Editor); Christian Harder (Editor)
Call Number: 526 ARC
ISBN: 9781589484627
Publication Date: 2016-07-15
Explore how imagery and remote sensing power modern GIS.

Search for Books

Destiny Library Catalog
Look for library books related to your topic. When you get to the catalog, don't forget to sign in!
Sora
Follow this link or download the SoraApp to access the library's ebook collection. Sign in with Google.

Creative Commons License

This guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike license.

Libguide Creator

Contact me if you have suggestions for or questions about this guide!

Linda Hoiseth

High School Librarian

lhoiseth@asdubai.org

Twitter: @lhoiseth