AP Human Geography: Genocide

This anthology contains a collection of writings, chosen for their unique insights into Argentina's "Dirty War," during which an estimated 10,000 to 30,000 citizens were killed by Argentina's military dictatorship.

The systematic extermination of about 1.5 million Armenians by the Ottoman government during and after WWI inspired the formulation of a new term that would come to haunt the modern "civilized" world, genocide.

Drawing upon Ottoman sources including parliamentary minutes, letters, military and court records, and eyewitness accounts, the author examines the Armenian genocide that took place during World War I; and maintains that the Turkish military and ruling political parties as well as the Ottomans were responsible.

"In 1991, an ethnically diverse region that had enjoyed decades of peaceful coexistence descended into bitter hatred and chaos, almost overnight. Communities fractured along lines of ethnic and religious affiliation and the ensuing fighting was deeply personal, resulting in brutality, rape and torture, and ultimately the deaths of thousands of people. This book examines the internal upheavals of the former Yugoslavia and their international implications..."

Examines the mass killing of Bosnian Muslims by Serbs in the former Yugoslavia, following the break-up of the Soviet Union in the early 1990s.

A collection of essays offering a multitude of perspectives on acts of genocide, crimes against humanity, and instances of extreme persecution in Cambodia.

Military dictators have long practiced policies of persecution, terror, and mass murder to consolidate political power. The essays in this volume document the brutal subjugation that Chileans suffered under the rule of Pinochet. Background information and first person accounts of the events are provided, to give the reader a more rounded knowledge of the events.

This book provides comprehensive information on the geography, history, wildlife, governmental structure, economy, cultural diversity, peoples, religion, and culture of Chile.

This book presents the background and history of genocide, the key issues associated with this worldwide crime, and the problems inherent in preventing its occurrence.

"The story of Sandra Uwiringiyimana, a girl from the Democratic Republic of the Congo who tells the tale of how she survived a massacre, immigrated to America, and overcame her trauma through art and activism."

For more than 100 years, Canada's First Nations, Inuits, and Metis people endured an educational system designed to essentially remove all evidence of their native identities.

Learn about the country's history, culture, people and much more.

Describes the rise of Mao Zedong and the changes to China during the 20th century.

The facts of the Mayans' story will be intertwined with profiles of individuals and in-depth looks at related topics.

Examines the genocide and political persecution against the people of El Salvador and Guatemala.

From acclaimed author Marsha Forchuk Skrypuch, this incredibly gripping and timely story set during the Holodomor in 1930s Ukraine introduces young readers to a pivotal moment in history-- and how it relates to the events of today.

"[Discusses one of] Stalin's greatest crimes--the consequences of which still resonate today In 1929 Stalin launched his policy of agricultural collectivization--in effect a second Russian revolution--which forced millions of peasants off their land and onto collective farms. The result was a catastrophic famine, the most lethal in European history. At least five million people died between 1931 and 1933 in the USSR"

This book relates the shocking story of how a natural disaster was weaponized by the Soviet Union under the rule of Joseph Stalin to punish a whole people.

"Relates the previously untold history of the Soviet Union, from the Revolution, Lenin, and Trotsky to World War II, the Cold War, and glasnost"

This collection of essays explores genocide and persecution of the Kurds, including the historical and cultural background of Kurdish persecution in Turkey and Iraq events from the rise of the communist People's Republic of China in 1949 to the present.

Examines the economic and political issues facing the Kurdish people and describes their oppression under dictator Saddam Hussein as well as their history, political views, religion, foreign relations, and communities in a post-Saddam world.

The story of a Kurdish family torn apart during the Anfal genocide committed by the Iraqi army against the Kurds in Iraq.

This collection of essays explores years of conflict and violence in Liberia during the First and Second Liberian Civil Wars and the acts of genocide and crimes against humanity that have resulted.

The heartbreaking story of five generations of young people from a single African-and-American family pursuing an elusive dream of freedom.

"Like all Rohingyas in Rakhine province, Hasina lives in constant threat of Sit Tat, the Myanmar Army. The wop wop wop of their helicopters means one thing only, run, and don't stop. So when soldiers invade her village one night, she races deep into the forest to hide with her brother, Araf, and her cousin Ghadiya. When they return days later to find their family missing and the Rohingyas drivern out, Hasina must fight to survive amidst a conflict that threatens her whole world."

While World War II is well known for genocide, the war itself eclipsed key events that preceded and contributed to the greater conflict ... explores the Nanjing massacre, a mass murder and rape committed by Japanese soldiers in China during the Second Sino-Japanese War. This conflict would later merge into World War II itself.

Presents an account of the Japanese Imperial Army's brutal campaign against the Chinese which resulted in tens of thousands of deaths from November 1937 to March 1938, and includes the author's comments on so-called "massacre denial" literature.

Describes the rise of Mao Zedong and the changes to China during the 20th century.

An immersive tale of the killing of a Native American man and its far-reaching consequences for Colonial America

A history of the United States for young people told from the perspective of Indigenous peoples, revealing how Native Americans, for centuries, actively resisted expansion of the U.S. empire.

A look at the terrorist organization known as Boko Haram based in Nigeria.

An introduction to the geography, history, and people of Nigeria.

From 1858 to 1947, the British ruled India. In the aftermath of World War II, Britain agreed not just to grant India's independence, but to carve from India a separate country, Pakistan, for its Muslim population. This partition sparked one of the largest mass migrations in history. It also sparked terrible violence, particularly along the new border. This necessary book tells the story of India's partition and of the people affected by it.

Explores Bangladesh, including the culture, food, geography, and more.

Explores Bangladesh, including the culture, the people, geography, and more.

Examines the events surrounding the Rwandan genocide, explores the reactions of countries around the world, discusses its lasting impact on the region and its people, and addresses what could have been done to stop or prevent the violence.

Readers are able to gain a clearer understanding of the Rwandan genocide as well as other pivotal moments that shaped this African country into what it is today.

Describes the geography, history, government, economy, social life and customs, religion, culture, and more of this island country of Sri Lanka.

This collection of essays explores decades of conflict and violence in Sri Lanka and the acts of genocide and crimes against humanity that have resulted.

Presents a short study of what it is like to live in a refugee camp, and follows the experiences of Carbino, a young man who, at age eleven, fled his home in the Sudan after civil war broke out.

This volume offers readers a history of the term genocide and then moves into what has been called perhaps the foulest humanitarian crisis of the early twenty-first century: the crisis in Darfur.

Beginning in 2011, the Syrian Civil War has become one of the most pressing crises facing the world today. This book will provide students with the context they need to understand the ethnic and religious tensions at play in Syria, the growth of the conflict into one of war, and the ramifications of the inadequate international response.

Nujeen Mustafa, a teenager born with cerebral palsy, whose harrowing journey from war-ravaged Syria to Germany in a wheelchair is a breathtaking tale of fortitude, grit, and hope that lends a face to the greatest humanitarian issue of our time, the Syrian refugee crisis.

Chronicles the life of Syrian refugee Muzoon Almellehan, and details her early life growing up in Syria, her family's decision to leave, and their experiences in a refugee camp. Explores Muzoon's commitment to continuing her own education while in the camp as well as her work encouraging other children, especially girls, to continue their education, and discusses how her advocacy led her to become a UNICEF ambassador.

Presents the stories of Sunni Muslim Ruha and her sister Alaa and Alawite sisters Hanin and Jawa, two pairs of sisters on the opposite sides of the Syrian civil war, and highlights the living conditions in the rebel-controlled territory and the police state of regime-held Syria. Details how religious differences play into the conflict, and includes a map of Syria.

Examines the life and misdeeds of Ugandan military leader Idi Amin, discussing the devastating effects of his policies on the country and its people.

Examines the causes, events, and legacies of the Holocaust which resulted in the extermination of six million Jews.