ASD Libraries: AP Human Geography: Unit 2 Population/Migration

Books in the ASD Library

If the World Were 100 People by Jackie McCann; Aaron Cushley (Illustrator)
Call Number: 304.6 MCC
ISBN: 9780593310700
Publication Date: 2021-07-20
"With almost 7.8 billion people sharing the earth, it can be a little hard to picture what the human race looks like all together. But if we could shrink the world down to just 100 people, what could we learn about the human race? What would we look like? Where and how would we all be living? This book answers all these questions and more! "
What's for Lunch? by Andrea Curtis; Yvonne Duivenvoorden (Photographer)
Call Number: 371.7 CUR
ISBN: 9780889954823
Publication Date: 2012
Describes what children around the world eat for lunch, including children in Japan, Kenya, Afghanistan, the United States, Peru, Canada, and more.
Teen Lives Around the World by Karen Wells
Call Number: 305.235 TEE
ISBN: 9781440852466
Publication Date: 2019
"[Presents the first in a] two-volume encyclopedia looks at the lives of teenagers around the world, examining topics from a typical school day to major issues that teens face today, including bullying, violence, sexuality, and social and financial pressures."

BBC - Country Profiles
Guides to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions. Also included are audio and video clips from BBC archives.
World Fact Book
Political, geographic, economic, and sociological summaries organized by country. Published by the CIA.
Library of Congress' Country Studies
Description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world from the US Library of Congress.
World Bank - Countries
The World Bank Group works in more than 170 countries, working with partners in the public and private sectors in their efforts to end poverty and tackle some of the most pressing development challenges.
World Data Atlas
World and regional statistics, national data, maps, rankings.
Population Pyramid
Look at a population pyramid for your country.
UN Human Development Data Center
"The human development data are sourced from international data agencies with the mandate, resources, and expertise to collect national data on specific indicators unless otherwise noted."

Find websites that originate from different countries by including their country domain in your Google search.

For example, to find sites that originated in the UAE, add this to your search:

site:.ae

To find sites from the UAE government, add this to your search:

site:gov.ae

To find publications from the UAE government, add this to your search:

site:gov.ae .pdf

These databases will be useful for this assignment.

CultureGrams This link opens in a new window
Reference resource for reliable cultural information on the countries of the world.
Britannica School This link opens in a new window
Britannica School is a general encyclopedia that's useful for all subjects. Choose your level: elementary, middle, or high.
Credo Source This link opens in a new window
Credo Source is a one-stop research platform combining citable reference content with instructional videos and tutorials, as well as access to other subscription databases. Credo Source is a great starting point for research.
Global Issues This link opens in a new window
Provides a global perspective, integrating news, global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics, and more. Citations export directly into Noodletools.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Find overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of today's important social issues. Citations export directly into Noodletools.
Modern World History This link opens in a new window
Offers a comprehensive look at world history from the mid-15th century to the present. Citations export directly into Noodletools. Sign in with Google SSO.
Proquest This link opens in a new window
A large, multi-subject database. Citations export directly into Noodletools.
World History Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
A comprensive open encyclopedia focusing on ancient civilizations.

ArcGIS Living Atlas
A to Z Databases
This link will take you to all of the databases that the ASD libraries subscribe to. For login information, see the secure document below.
ASD Databases Login Information
You must be signed in to your ASD account to view these passwords.

Destiny Library Catalog
Look for library books related to your topic. When you get to the catalog, don't forget to sign in!
Sora
Follow this link or download the SoraApp to access the library's ebook collection. Sign in with Google.

Take Action for the Sustainable Development Goals
The Sustainable Development Goals are the blueprint to achieve a better and more sustainable future for all. They address the global challenges we face, including poverty, inequality, climate change, environmental degradation, peace and justice. Learn more and take action.
ASD's SDGs Libguide
This guide has a tab for each of the SDGs with many resources available for each.

Noodletools This link opens in a new window
NoodleTools is an online research management platform that helps you evaluate information, build accurate citations, archive source material, take notes, outline topics, and prepare to write. Sign in with Google.

Noodletools Help
This guide will answer all of your questions about how to use Noodletools.

Book Creator
This integrates with Canva. Sign in with Google. Use code RGXRW7Y to join our class.
Canva
Sign in with Google.
Adobe Firefly
AI image generator. Sign in with Google. Most students have 25 credits per month.

Try these sites to find images that have been shared for re-use. Remember:

Not every image on every site listed has been shared, so be sure to look for the copyright information.
Always cite images in academic work, even if the license says no attribution is necessary.

Artstor This link opens in a new window
Artstor features millions of high-quality images and media from some of the world’s top photo archives, museums, libraries, scholars, and artists, including rare materials not available anywhere else.
Register for a free JSTOR account to access up to 100 subscription items per month.

This guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike license.

Contact me if you have suggestions for or questions about this guide!

Linda Hoiseth

High School Librarian

lhoiseth@asdubai.org

Twitter: @lhoiseth