EMR - Summative - Physics - ASD Libraries at American School of Dubai

Tanning Beds - CLAIM

Claim: The UV exposure in tanning beds is a significant cancer risk.

Tanning Beds - Additional Resources

Understanding and Using UV and Infrared Radiation by Jonathan Bard
Call Number: 535.01 BAR
Publication Date: 2021
"This book teaches students about UV and infrared radiation"
Cancer Information for Teens
Call Number: 616.99 CAN
ISBN: 9780780819276
Publication Date: 2021
Provides consumer health information for teens about cancer risk factors, prevention, diagnosis, treatment, coping, and survivorship along with online support and mobile apps related to cancer. Includes index and resource information.

The Relationship between Ultraviolet Radiation Exposure and Vitamin D Status
Indoor UV tanning and skin cancer: health risks and opportunities
The roles of ultraviolet radiation exposure and indoor tanning behaviors on skin cancer risk are explored here.
Public Health and the Tanning Bed Controversy
Tanning bed use is not associated with internal cancer risk: Evidence from a large cohort study
Tanning Beds and Skin Cancer

Airport Body Scanners - CLAIM

Claim: The X-Ray and millimeter wave exposure from airport body scanners exceeds the safe limit for humans.

SCAN OR SCAM: HOW SAFE ARE AIRPORT BODY SCANNERS?

Scan or Scam: How Safe Are Airport Body Scanners?
This is a PDF version of the website article.

Airport Body Scanners - Additional Resources

Understanding and Using X-Rays by Elizabeth Rubio
Call Number: 539.7 RUB
Publication Date: 2021
"This book is about [the history of] x-rays [and how they are used]"

Should I worry about radiation exposure from X-rays, mammograms and other scans?
"While massive doses are known to be harmful, the lesser radiation in routine tests is usually safe."
Are airport body scanners a radiation risk?
"A consultant refused to go through the full-body scanner at Manchester Airport this week, claiming it was potentially dangerous to his health."
Airport Full Body Screening: What is the Risk?
"Even though the doses are low, the cancer risk merits consideration given there are 750 million passenger enplanements a year and even a small risk per person could potentially translate into a significant number of cancers."
Facts About Radiation from Airport Security Screening
"The United States uses millimeter-wave technology in airport security scans. This form of technology uses low-energy non-ionizing radiation that releases thousands of times less energy than a cell phone."

Food Irradiation - CLAIM

Claim: Food irradiation using high energy gamma radiation can cause gene mutations.

ABOUT FOOD IRRADIATION

About Food Irradiation
This is a PDF version of the above website.

Food Irradiation Additional Resources

Understanding and Using Gamma Rays by Alison Eldridge; Stephen Eldridge
Call Number: 539.7 ELD
ISBN: 9781978514898
Publication Date: 2021
This book gives readers a look into the discovery, history, and uses of gamma rays.

Comparison and Characterization of Mutations Induced by Gamma-Ray and Carbon-Ion Irradiation in Rice (Oryza sativa L.) Using Whole-Genome Resequencing
"These results could contribute to the application of radiation mutagenesis to plant mutation breeding."
Gamma irradiation-induced genetic variability and its effects on the phenotypic and agronomic traits of groundnut (Arachis hypogaeaL.)
"This study demonstrates the potency of gamma irradiation to induce high genetic variability that led to the emergence of certain mutations of economic importance."
Food Irradiation
"The eects that irradiation has on food have been more thoroughly studied than for any other food process."
Radioisotopes in Food & Agriculture
"Whilst food irradiation has consistently been shown to be safe in clinical studies, consumer concerns have largely limited its use to imported spices and fruits in the USA and Europe. "

Cell Phone Towers - CLAIM

Claim: Living near cell phone towers causes dizziness and fatigue

Health Effects of Cell Towers Near Homes and Schools

Health Effects of Cell Towers Near Homes and Schools
This is a PDF version of the website above.

Cell Phone Towers Additional Resources

Understanding and Using Radio Waves by Elizabeth Rubio
Call Number: 537.5 RUB
ISBN: 9781978514867
Publication Date: 2021
Readers will discover how radio waves are similar to and different from light we can see.
Thinking Critically: Cell Phones by Carla Mooney
Call Number: 303.48 MOO
ISBN: 9781601525802
Publication Date: 2013

How risky is radiation from cellphones and towers
A Systematic Review of Treatments for Electromagnetic Hypersensitivity
Evidence for a health risk by RF on humans living around mobile phone base stations: From radiofrequency sickness to cancer
"The objective of this work was to perform a complete review of the existing scientific literature to update the knowledge on the effects of base station antennas on humans."
Health Effects of Cell Towers Near Homes and Schools
"Effects from RF documented in scientific research include increased cancer risk, cellular stress, headaches, sleep issues, genetic damage, changes to the reproductive system, memory deficits, and impacts to the nervous system."
Cell Phone Towers
"At this time, there’s no strong evidence that exposure to RF waves from cell phone towers causes any noticeable health effects."

Microwave Ovens - CLAIM

Claim: Owning / operating a microwave oven exposes you to harmful radiation.

The Dangers of Microwave Radiation and How To Reduce Exposure

The Dangers of Microwave Radiation and How To Reduce Exposure
This is a PDF version of the website above.

Microwave Ovens Additional Resources

Understanding and Using Microwaves by Alison Eldridge; Stephen Eldridge
Call Number: 537.5 ELD
ISBN: 9781978514928
Publication Date: 2021
This book offers a look into the discovery, history, and uses of microwave energy.

Microwave Ovens
"Through its Center for Devices and Radiological Health (CDRH), the FDA sets and enforces standards of performance for electronic products to assure that radiation emissions do not pose a hazard to public health."
The effects of radiation leakage of microwave oven on body weight, cortisol, thyroid hormones and lipid profile in immature mice.
"Microwaves leaked from oven have deleterious effect on body weight, T4 and cortisol level by decreasing weight gain and increasing these hormones."
Health Effects of Using a Microwave Oven
A scientific review from KIMS Hospital
Is Microwave Radiation Harmful?
"Have you ever been worried about using your microwave oven because you’ve heard that it may harm you in some way?"

Lessons

Noodletools

Noodletools This link opens in a new window
NoodleTools is an online research management platform that helps you evaluate information, build accurate citations, archive source material, take notes, outline topics, and prepare to write. Sign in with Google.

Noodletools Help
This guide will answer all of your questions about how to use Noodletools.

Recommended Databases

Credo Source
Credo Source is a one-stop research platform combining citable reference content with instructional videos and tutorials, as well as access to other subscription databases. Credo Source is a great starting point for research.
Proquest
A large, multi-subject database. Citations export directly into Noodletools.
JSTOR
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. Citations export directly to Noodletools.

A to Z Databases
This link will take you to all of the databases that the ASD libraries subscribe to. For login information, see the secure document below.
ASD Databases Login Information
You must be signed in to your ASD account to view these passwords.

Search for Books

Destiny Library Catalog
Look for library books related to your topic. When you get to the catalog, don't forget to sign in!
Sora
Follow this link or download the SoraApp to access the library's ebook collection. Sign in with Google.

Anatomy of a Scientific Article

Anatomy of a Scientific Article

Creative Commons License

This guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike license.

Libguide Creator

Contact me if you have suggestions for or questions about this guide!

Linda Hoiseth

High School Librarian

lhoiseth@asdubai.org

Twitter: @lhoiseth

Physics: EMR - Summative

Header