Physics: General Physics Info

You must be signed in to your ASD account to view these passwords.

The Physical Measurement Laboratory (PML) develops and disseminates the national standards of: length, mass, force and shock, acceleration,time and frequency, electricity, temperature, humidity, pressure and vacuum,
liquid and gas flow, and electromagnetic, optical, microwave, acoustic, ultrasonic, and ionizing radiation.

"We categorize useful listings for online lab simulations, virtual science experiments and free educational software."

"The Flying Circus of Physics is a book about curious events and effects of the everyday world. This site is an extension of the book."

"A professional membership association of scientists dedicated to enhancing the understanding and appreciation of physics through teaching.

"IOPscience embraces innovative technologies to make it easier for researchers to access scientific, technical and medical content."

From the University of Colorado - Boulder.

"The oPhysics website is a collection of interactive physics simulations."

"Interactive Video Vignettes (IVVs) are designed as ungraded web-based assignments for introductory physics students."

"includes student activities, background information, and applications"

"The Cosmic Ray e-Lab provides an online environment in which students experience the excitement of scientific collaboration in this series of investigations into high-energy cosmic rays."

"The King's Centre for Visualization in Science is a research centre of The King's University, Edmonton, Alberta, Canada committed to improving the global public understanding of science through research and the creation and dissemination of peer-reviewed interactive electronic learning tools to see and understand science."

"These programs cover the basics of aerodynamics and propulsion."

"Since 2013 we have been making cross-platform, run-anywhere, programs to help physics students around the world master the big ideas in physics."

More accurate than engaging. Good for demos.

Loads of Physics animations

Good for including uncertainty or ability to “get the measures” wrong

Labs, tools, games, easy online graphing program.

Tech Tools for teaching- some fun ways to spice up how kids interact with content

Simulations from Water Fendt

The Zooniverse is the world’s largest and most popular platform for people-powered research. This research is made possible by volunteers.

This site has physics simulations.

Look for library books related to your topic. When you get to the catalog, don't forget to sign in!

"The AGRIS database contains 11,714,169 records ( including 1,528 datasets ) from 460 data providers." Sponsored by the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations. (environment, geography, natural sciences)

arXiv is a free distribution service and an open-access archive for 1,692,592 scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics.

Use this site's search engine to find data sets to use for your research.

The preprint server for biology.

"Collection of websites that offer freely available online data."

Elsevier is a Dutch publishing and analytics company specializing in scientific, technical, and medical content. All articles in open access journals which are published by Elsevier have undergone peer review and upon acceptance are immediately and permanently free for everyone to read and download.

"Kaggle, a subsidiary of Google LLC, is an online community of data scientists and machine learning practitioners." (Wikipedia)

"Medrxiv is an Internet site distributing unpublished manuscripts about health sciences. It distributes complete, but unpublished manuscripts in the areas of medicine, clinical research, and related health sciences without charge to the reader." (Wikipedia)

"This resource organizes information on genomes including sequences, maps, chromosomes, assemblies, and annotations."

"PSD archives a wide range of data ranging from gridded climate datasets extending hundreds of years to real-time wind profiler data at a single location. "

PLOS is a nonprofit, Open Access publisher empowering researchers to accelerate progress in science and medicine by leading a transformation in research communication.

"PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM)."

Has data about coral reefs.

From Carleton College.

"Species+ provides a centralised portal for accessing key information on species of global concern."

"The UCI Machine Learning Repository is a collection of databases, domain theories, and data generators that are used by the machine learning community for the empirical analysis of machine learning algorithms."

"You can search the database by food item, food group, or manufacturer's name to find the nutrient information for your food items. You can also generate lists of foods sorted by nutrient content."

"Produced by the international biodiversity research and conservation organisation Operation Wallacea, it provides important datasets that students can freely access to guide and inform their learning activities.

Health-related statistics from the World Health Organization

Wiley Open Access publishes authoritative peer reviewed open access journals across many research disciplines.

Wolfram Alpha is a "computational search engine." This page gives some examples of life science searches.

"The Zooniverse is the world’s largest and most popular platform for people-powered research. This research is made possible by volunteers — hundreds of thousands of people around the world who come together to assist professional researchers."

This Libguide from West Sound Academy has dozens of links to more databases available.

This guide will answer all of your questions about how to use Noodletools.

"Google Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines."

"ResearchGate is a European commercial social networking site for scientists and researchers to share papers, ask and answer questions, and find collaborators." Many studies are available free by contacting the authors through ResearchGate.

"The world’s largest collection of open access research papers."

"A free, AI-powered research tool for scientific literature."

"Academia is a platform for sharing academic research." Create a free account with Google.

This "database contains over 16 500 peer-reviewed open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts and humanities."

"ScienceOpen is a freely accessible search and discovery platform that puts research in context."

"Scientific Research Publishing (SCIRP) is one of the largest Open Access journal publishers."

"The Digital Commons Network brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide."

"The world's leading publisher of Open Access books."