ASD Libraries: Multidisciplinary Exploration: Cotton Yarn Project 2024

What can we do with the yarn we create?

Crochet by DK
Call Number: 746.43 CRO
ISBN: 9781465498359
Publication Date: 2020
Stitch-by-stitch instructions with illustrations that will guide you through crocheted baby blankets to baby shoes, and many more lovely things for you or your home.
Knitting Stitches VISUAL Encyclopedia by Sharon Turner
Call Number: 746.43 TUR
ISBN: 9781118018958
Publication Date: 2011
Provides visual access to a comprehensive collection of stitch combinations that enable readers to create their own designs or modify existing patterns with ease.
Knot Projects by Dana Meachen Rau; Ashley Dugan (Illustrator)
Call Number: 746.42 RAU
ISBN: 9781668919606
Publication Date: 2023
Provides step-by-step instructions for six knotting crafts, along with a history of knotting and a basic knot tutorial. Includes color photographs and illustrations, tips for mixing and matching ideas, a glossary, and additional resources.
Crochet Projects That Will Hook You by Karen Whooley
Call Number: 746.43 WHO
ISBN: 9781515774471
Publication Date: 2018
Text and illustrations introduce the basics of crocheting, and present instructions for assorted crochet projects.
Easy Knitting for Beginners by Fiona Goble
Call Number: 746.43 GOB
ISBN: 9781800651975
Publication Date: 2023
Explains techniques and stitches for knitting, and includes thirty-five projects organized by difficulty level from beginner to more experienced knitters, with color photographs.
Knitgrrl by Shannon Okey; Kathleen Jacques (Illustrator); Shannon Fagan (Photographer); Christine Okey (Photographer); Tamas Jakab (Photographer)
Call Number: 746.43 OKE
ISBN: 9780823026180
Publication Date: 2005
Presents full-color illustrated instructions for creating fifteen knitted projects including hats, scarves, and more.
Knitting Projects You'll Purl Over by Kelly McClure
Call Number: 746.43 McC
ISBN: 9781515774464
Publication Date: 2018
Text and illustrations introduce the basics of knitting, and present instructions for assorted knitted projects.

Useful Websites and Videos

Dyeing Yarn

Handcarding

From Britannica: "Carding, in textile production, a process of separating individual fibres, using a series of dividing and redividing steps, that causes many of the fibres to lie parallel to one another while also removing most of the remaining impurities. Carding may be done by hand, using hand carders (pinned wooden paddles that are not unlike steel dog brushes) . . . "

Melvenea Makes: 3 Tips for Handcarding Cotton
Invaluable tips for handcarding your own cotton.

Spinning

How to Spin Cotton on a Spindle

Noodletools

Noodletools This link opens in a new window
NoodleTools is an online research management platform that helps you evaluate information, build accurate citations, archive source material, take notes, outline topics, and prepare to write. Sign in with Google.

Noodletools Help
This guide will answer all of your questions about how to use Noodletools.

Assignment information

Recommended Databases

A to Z Databases
This link will take you to all of the databases that the ASD libraries subscribe to. For login information, see the secure document below.
ASD Databases Login Information
You must be signed in to your ASD account to view these passwords.

Britannica School This link opens in a new window
Britannica School is a general encyclopedia that's useful for all subjects. Choose your level: elementary, middle, or high.
Credo Source This link opens in a new window
Credo Source is a one-stop research platform combining citable reference content with instructional videos and tutorials, as well as access to other subscription databases. Credo Source is a great starting point for research.