Hive/Water Project - 2023 - Multidisciplinary Exploration - ASD Libraries at American School of Dubai

Assignment Information

Do the Work! Climate Action, Life below Water, and Life on Land by Julie Knutson
Call Number: 333.72 KNU
ISBN: 9781668909270
Publication Date: 2022
Readers will learn about the thirteenth, fourteenth, and fifteenth UN Sustainable Development Goals and what it takes to commit to combating climate change and conserving our oceans and land by 2030.
Running Dry by Stuart A. Kallen
Call Number: 333.91 KAL
ISBN: 9781467726467
Publication Date: 2015
Investigates issues related to water-supply, consumption, and conservation around the world.

The Beekeepers: How Humans Changed the World of Bumble Bees (Scholastic Focus) by Dana L. Church
Call Number: 595.79 CHU
ISBN: 9781338565546
Publication Date: 2021
"This book highlights the interconnectedness of the two species, and touches on the topics of endangerment and extinction, the impact on human agriculture, bumble bee habitats and ecology, and the current crisis of bee protection."
Where Have All the Bees Gone? by Rebecca E. Hirsch
Call Number: 595.79 HIR
ISBN: 9781541534636
Publication Date: 2020-02-04
Learn about the many bee species on Earth--their nests, their colonies, their life cycles, and their vital connection to flowering plants. Most importantly, find out how you can help these important pollinators.
The Bee Book by DK; Emma Tennant (Contribution by); Fergus Chadwick (Contribution by)
Call Number: 595.79 CHA
ISBN: 9781465443830
Publication Date: 2016
The Bee Book shows you step-by-step how to create a bee-friendly garden, get started in beekeeping, and harness the power of honey for well-being.
Beekeeping for Dummies by Howland Blackiston
Call Number: 638.1 BLA
ISBN: 9781119310068
Publication Date: 2017-01-17
This practical guide presents a step-by-step approach to starting your own beehive, along with expert tips for maintaining a healthy colony. You get the latest on honey bee medication and treatments, harvesting and marketing your honey.

Data analysis through beekeeping at ABB
"ABB’s Corporate Research Center in Krakow uses bees raised on its roof to support the environment – and test computer algorithms."
Module 5: Data Collection & Analysis in Beekeeping
"This course will provide the participant with all the basic information required to conduct beekeeping in the Caribbean. It was developed for new Caribbean beekeepers as well as those with less than two (2) years worth of experience.
BeePi: A Multisensor Electronic Beehive Monitor
"BeePi is an electronic beehive monitoring system that uses video, audio, and temperature data to estimate the state of a bee colony."
5 ways to measure beehive health with hive-streaming data
From the SAS analytics company.
LongHive
"Track your beehive's health with this deep-learning, end-to-end solution." From Make magazine.

Noodletools This link opens in a new window
NoodleTools is an online research management platform that helps you evaluate information, build accurate citations, archive source material, take notes, outline topics, and prepare to write. Sign in with Google.

Noodletools Help
This guide will answer all of your questions about how to use Noodletools.

A to Z Databases
This link will take you to all of the databases that the ASD libraries subscribe to. For login information, see the secure document below.
ASD Databases Login Information
You must be signed in to your ASD account to view these passwords.

New York Times - School Pass This link opens in a new window
Use this link to set up your access to ASD's New York Times subscription.
Britannica School This link opens in a new window
Britannica School is a general encyclopedia that's useful for all subjects. Choose your level: elementary, middle, or high.
Global Issues This link opens in a new window
Provides a global perspective, integrating news, global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics, and more. Citations export directly into Noodletools.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Find overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of today's important social issues. Citations export directly into Noodletools.
Proquest This link opens in a new window
A large, multi-subject database. Citations export directly into Noodletools.

Destiny Library Catalog
Look for library books related to your topic. When you get to the catalog, don't forget to sign in!
Sora
Follow this link or download the SoraApp to access the library's ebook collection. Sign in with Google.

This guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike license.

Contact me if you have suggestions for or questions about this guide!

Linda Hoiseth

High School Librarian

lhoiseth@asdubai.org

Twitter: @lhoiseth