ASD Libraries: Entrepreneurship: Entrepreneur Research Project

Assignment Information

Objectives:

Find appropriate resources for learning about entrepreneurs and business start-ups
Understand how the entrepreneur and founder drives the mission/objectives of an organization
Understand the unique challenges faced by entrepreneurs when starting a business
Examine the role entrepreneurs play in today’s economy and recognize the unique personal characteristics and skills that successful entrepreneurs possess.

Assignment Introduction

Useful resources

Canva
Sign in with Google.
LinkedIn
A professional networking website where you can look up the entrepreneur you're studying.

Digital Magazines

These magazines are available through the Sora app. Look for back issues as well.

Sora Magazines
Follow this link or download the SoraApp to access the library's digital magazine collection. Sign in with Google.
Business and Finance Magazines
Find current and back issues of these business and finance magazines.
Entrepreneur Magazine
Money Magazine
Kiplinger's Personal Finance

Useful economics news websites

Pro Tip

Pro Tip:

Once you've settled on an entrepreneur, be sure to look at their website and all of their social media platforms, but also look for reviews about their work and what other people say about them. Not everyone portrays themselves accurately!

ELAN Business Magazine

ELAN is a magazine that's made by business-passionate students from all over the world. You are encouraged to leave your email on the site so the publishers can send you more info in the future. Your comments are welcome.

ELAN Business Magazine Issue 1

Useful Websites

How I Built This on Wondery
Includes all episodes, from most recent to oldest.
How I Built This podcast from NPR
A podcast about innovators, entrepreneurs, idealists and their stories about the movements they built. Through 2022.
List of all the How I Built This Episodes
Meet new kids on the tech block
This article features ASD student Iba Ali!
10 Successful Young Entrepreneurs
From Investopedia
Companies Founded by Amazing Young Entrepreneurs
From News Daily
Entrepreneurship - recent articles from the New York Times
Be sure to redeem the school pass once a year for access. (See below in the database box.)
11 young entrepreneurs changing the world
From One Young World, empowering and developing young leaders to build a fair, sustainable future for all.
16 Young And Successful Entrepreneurs Who Prove That Age Is Nothing but a Number
From Lifehack. (This list also includes famous entrepreneurs, so be careful about who you choose.
51 Remarkable Young Entrepreneurs To Watch in 2021
From Ideamensch
Young Rich List – Top Young Entrepreneurs Making Millions
From Incomediary
It’s Not Just You — Blank Street Coffee Is Suddenly Inescapable
This article from the New York Times is about ASD alumni.
Emirati Women's Day 2024: Here's What Eight Female Leaders From The UAE Want To "Share For Tomorrow"
"Emirati Women's Day is celebrated every year in the UAE on August 28 to honor the remarkable achievements and contributions of Emirati women to the nation's development."
10 Successful Young Entrepreneurs
"Born between 1997 and 2012, this generation is finding innovative ways to make their own income."
Meet 9 Inspiring Young Entrepreneurs (2024)
"Discover business ideas for young entrepreneurs and meet nine inspiring founders who started businesses while they were still in school."
Meet 12 of the brightest young self-made pioneers of tomorrow
"This new wave of innovators, with their disruptive mindsets, are shaking up industries and dismantling traditional ways of doing things."

Books in the ASD Library

Girls Who Run the World: 31 CEOs Who Mean Business by Diana Kapp; Bijou Karman (Illustrator)
Call Number: 338 KAP
ISBN: 9781984893055
Publication Date: 2019
Shares the success stories of thirty-one female CEOs.
App Kid by Michael Sayman
Call Number: B SAYMAN
ISBN: 9780525656197
Publication Date: 2021
A memoir from a Latino Silicon Valley entrepreneur who taught himself to code at age thirteen, became Facebook's youngest ever employee at seventeen, and eventually became an product manager and founder-in-residence at Google.
It Was All a Dream by Reniqua Allen
Call Number: 305. 8 ALL
ISBN: 9781568585864
Publication Date: 2019
"tells the stories--too often overlooked--of black millennials struggling, innovating, and flourishing"
A Work in Progress by Connor Franta
Call Number: B FRANTA
ISBN: 9781476791616
Publication Date: 2015
Looks at the life of Connor Franta, an American YouTube vlogger, Internet personality, philanthropist, author, and entrepreneur.
The Power of Unreasonable People by John Elkington; Pamela Hartigan
Call Number: 361.7 ELK
ISBN: 9781422104064
Publication Date: 2008
Explains how a new breed of entrepreneurs who are using unique methods and radical innovations to create social change have transformed the business world and developed new opportunities, business models, and social revolutions.
The Innovator's DNA by Jeff Dyer; Hal Gregersen; Clayton M. Christensen
Call Number: 658.4 DYE
ISBN: 9781422134818
Publication Date: 2011
Identifies key innovation competencies, discusses how to master them, and presents ways to leverage them in an organization.

Entrepreneurship

Library Lessons

Noodletools

Noodletools This link opens in a new window
NoodleTools is an online research management platform that helps you evaluate information, build accurate citations, archive source material, take notes, outline topics, and prepare to write. Sign in with Google.

Noodletools Help
This guide will answer all of your questions about how to use Noodletools.

Search for Books

Destiny Library Catalog
Look for library books related to your topic. When you get to the catalog, don't forget to sign in!
Sora
Follow this link or download the SoraApp to access the library's ebook collection. Sign in with Google.

Subscription Databases

A to Z Databases
This link will take you to all of the databases that the ASD libraries subscribe to. For login information, see the secure document below.
ASD Databases Login Information
You must be signed in to your ASD account to view these passwords.

These subscription sources will have economics articles.

New York Times - School Pass This link opens in a new window
Use this link to set up your access to ASD's New York Times subscription.
Financial Times - Create Account This link opens in a new window
Use this link to create your Financial Times account.
Proquest This link opens in a new window
A large, multi-subject database. Citations export directly into Noodletools.