ASD Libraries: Entrepreneurship: Shark Tank Project

Subscription Databases

A to Z Databases
This link will take you to all of the databases that the ASD libraries subscribe to. For login information, see the secure document below.
ASD Databases Login Information
You must be signed in to your ASD account to view these passwords.

These subscription sources will have economics articles.

New York Times - School Pass This link opens in a new window
Use this link to set up your access to ASD's New York Times subscription.
Financial Times - Create Account This link opens in a new window
Use this link to create your Financial Times account.
Proquest This link opens in a new window
A large, multi-subject database. Citations export directly into Noodletools.

Useful economics news websites

Economics books in the library

AP Microeconomics/Macroeconomics with 4 Practice Tests by Frank Musgrave; Elia Kacapyr; James Redelsheimer
Call Number: Ebook in Sora
ISBN: 9781506272184
Publication Date: 2021
Be prepared for exam day with Barron's.
Economics 101 by D. Mayer
Call Number: 330 MIL
ISBN: 9781440593406
Publication Date: 2016
Whether you're looking to master the major principles of finance, or just want to learn more about why money matters, Economics 101 has all the answers--even the ones you didn't know you were looking for.
Misbehaving by Richard H. Thaler
Call Number: 330.01 THA
ISBN: 9780393080940
Publication Date: 2015
"When economics meets psychology, the implications for individuals, managers, and policy makers are both profound and entertaining."

Business books in the ASD Library

The Power of Unreasonable People by John Elkington; Pamela Hartigan
Call Number: 361.7 ELK
ISBN: 9781422104064
Publication Date: 2008
Explains how a new breed of entrepreneurs who are using unique methods and radical innovations to create social change have transformed the business world and developed new opportunities, business models, and social revolutions.
The Culture Map by Erin Meyer
Call Number: 658 MEY
ISBN: 9781610392501
Publication Date: 2014
An international business expert helps you understand and navigate cultural differences in this insightful and practical guide, perfect for both your work and personal life.
Writing Winning Business Plans by Garrett Sutton
Call Number: 658.4 SUT
ISBN: 9781937832018
Publication Date: 2012
Reveals how to write an accessible and recognition-promoting business plan for any organization, discussing how new or established companies can benefit from an effectively executed business plan.
The Business Book by DK
Call Number: 650 BUS
ISBN: 9781465415851
Publication Date: 2014
A guide to business, management and commerce, covering inspirational business ideas, business strategy and alternative business models, with 100 key quotations introducing the work of great commercial thinkers, leaders and gurus from Henry Ford to Steve Jobs and to topics spanning from start-ups to ethics.

Entrepreneurship - Sources for All Groups

Crash Course Business: Entrepreneurship - Choose any of the 18 episodes that will be most helpful to you. (There's a link to one episode for each role in the boxes below, but there are more that are relevant for you.)

Write your business plan
From the US Small Business Administration
Business Plan for a Startup Business
From SCORE, the nation’s largest network of volunteer, expert business mentors, is dedicated to helping small businesses get off the ground, grow and achieve their goals.
500+ Free Sample Business Plans
Bplans is owned and operated by Palo Alto Software, Inc. as a free resource to help entrepreneurs build better businesses.
TED Entrepreneur
A collection of TED Talks (and more) on the topic of Entrepreneur.
Kauffman Entrepreneurs
"We work with entrepreneurs, empower them with tools and resources, and work to break down barriers that stand in the way of starting and growing their businesses."
BPlans
"Choose from 500+ free sample business plans in a wide variety of industries."

Finance Group

Costs and Revenue forecasting, funding model, Projected Cash Flows, Projected Income Statement, Projected Balance Sheet, Break Even Analysis, Financial Ratio Analysis

Textbook Chapter 9 - Revenue Models

Textbook Chapter 12 - Bootstrapping

Business Planning & Financial Statements Template Gallery
From SCORE, the nation’s largest network of volunteer, expert business mentors, is dedicated to helping small businesses get off the ground, grow and achieve their goals.
LoopNet
"Commercial real estate rates and availability in various cities."
Salary.com
"What should I pay? What am I worth?"
Industry Information Resources
"Individual guides for each of these industries identify resources available from trade associations, research firms, and other sources, with resource categories referenced in these guides including industry analysis, statistics, trends, and forecasts, financial statements and financial ratios, and compensation and salary surveys."

Marketing

Market Research, Value Proposition, Branding, Marketing Mix Strategy Planning: Product, Price, Place, Promotion. Customers and customer segments: Demographics, Geographics, Psychographics

Textbook Notes - Chapter 14 - Legal and IP

Textbook Chapter 6A - Developing Customers

Textbook Chapter 6B

Business Planning & Financial Statements Template Gallery
From SCORE. Look at the Marketing and Sales Templates section.
Industries at a Glance
From the US Department of Labor Statistics
Mplans: Sample Marketing Plans

Population Studies from the US Census Bureau
Consumer Expenditure Surveys
From the US Bureau of Labor Statistics. "The Consumer Expenditure Surveys (CE) program provides data on expenditures, income, and demographic characteristics of consumers in the United States."
Demographic and Social Statistics
"The United Nations Statistics Division collects, compiles and disseminates official demographic and social statistics on a wide range of topics."

Operations Group

Operations, Supply chain, Procurement, Project management, Sustainability, Total Quality Management (TQM), Logistics, Delivery

First Steps: Writing the Operations Section of Your Business Plan
From Entrepreneur Magazine
Census Business Builder (CBB)
From the US Census Bureau. "Small Business Edition is primarily for small business owners who need key data for their business plan or to better understand their potential market."
Product Decisions Tutorial
From Knowthis.com - a marketing organization

Legal Group

Organization legal structure and set-up, patents, trademarks, copyrights, contracting, business registration and permits, compliance, human resources, partnership agreements, etc.

Textbook Notes - Chapter 14 - Legal and IP

Patent Search
From the United States Patent and Trademark Office.
Google Patents
PatentScope
From WIPO - World Intellectual Property Organization
Espacenet
The European Patent Office provides "free access to over 130 million patent documents".

Lessons

Assignment Information

Noodletools

Noodletools This link opens in a new window
NoodleTools is an online research management platform that helps you evaluate information, build accurate citations, archive source material, take notes, outline topics, and prepare to write. Sign in with Google.

Noodletools Help
This guide will answer all of your questions about how to use Noodletools.

Digital Magazines

These magazines are available through the Sora app. Look for back issues as well.

Sora Magazines
Follow this link or download the SoraApp to access the library's digital magazine collection. Sign in with Google.
Business and Finance Magazines
Find current and back issues of these business and finance magazines.
The Economist
Entrepreneur Magazine
Money Magazine
Kiplinger's Personal Finance

Search for Books

Destiny Library Catalog
Look for library books related to your topic. When you get to the catalog, don't forget to sign in!
Sora
Follow this link or download the SoraApp to access the library's ebook collection. Sign in with Google.

Creative Commons License

This guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike license.

Libguide Creator

Contact me if you have suggestions for or questions about this guide!

Linda Hoiseth

High School Librarian

lhoiseth@asdubai.org

Twitter: @lhoiseth