ASD Libraries: Sociology: Year-end Research

Sites to Find Sociology Topic Ideas

ASD Libguide: Race, Culture, and Human Rights
The Race, Culture, and Human Rights class explores many topics related to power and privilege. You can fund numerous resources here.
Critical global issues: What are the world’s biggest problems and how can I help?

New York Times - School Pass This link opens in a new window
Use this link to set up your access to ASD's New York Times subscription.

Global issues
A collection of TED Talks (and more) on the topic of Global issues.
Sustainable Development Goals Libguide
This ASD Libguide has a page for each of the SDGs that you can use to explore a variety of topics.
Privilege
A collection of resources from the IUPUI Division of Diversity, Equity & Inclusion
Privilege and Intersectionality Libguide
This Libguide from the libraries at Rider University explores many different types of privilege.
NAACP
National Association for the Advancement of Colored People

Data.gov
"Here you will find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more."
Everyday Sociology
"A site that features interesting, informative, and most of all entertaining commentary from sociologists around the United States."
International Sociological Association
"The International Sociological Association is a non-profit organization dedicated to scientific purposes in the field of sociology and social sciences."
Canadian Sociological Association
American Sociological Association
Society for the Study of Social Problems
"In pursuit of social Justice. We are an interdisciplinary community of scholars, practitioners, advocates, and students interested in the application of critical, scientific, and humanistic perspectives to the study of vital social problems."

Global Issues This link opens in a new window
Provides a global perspective, integrating news, global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics, and more. Citations export directly into Noodletools.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Find overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of today's important social issues. Citations export directly into Noodletools.
Credo Source This link opens in a new window
Credo Source is a one-stop research platform combining citable reference content with instructional videos and tutorials, as well as access to other subscription databases. Credo Source is a great starting point for research.
CultureGrams This link opens in a new window
Reference resource for reliable cultural information on the countries of the world.
Proquest This link opens in a new window
A large, multi-subject database. Citations export directly into Noodletools.

A to Z Databases
This link will take you to all of the databases that the ASD libraries subscribe to. For login information, see the secure document below.
ASD Databases Login Information
You must be signed in to your ASD account to view these passwords.

Websites to stretch your brain. Browse, read, and let your mind wander.

The RSA (Royal Society for the Arts) video channel -- animations, shorts, and talks
The Big Think - big idea hunters
The Conversation - a collaboration between editors and academics to provide informed news analysis and commentary that’s free to read and republish - in three editions: Australia, the UK, and the US
Edge.org - where some of the most sophisticated and complex minds in the world ask each other questions -- in particular, see Annual Questions (& Answers)
Brainpickings
Arts & Letters Daily - the best of book reviews, essays, and opinion each week
Science Daily - the latest research news
TED Talks
Open Culture - always letting us know about amazing free culture-related things to watch and read online
The Globalist - a daily account of the key issues before the global community
The PBS Idea Channel
The School of Life - by Alain de Botton

Mental Floss
"Mental Floss delivers smart, fun and shareable content in an upbeat and witty environment. An encyclopedia of everything, we answer life’s big questions and uncover stories so interesting our readers absolutely must share them."

Thanks to Katie Day at Tanglin Trust for generating much of this list.

Explore a compelling sociological topic addressing power, privilege, oppression, racism, or discrimination.

Destiny Library Catalog
Look for library books related to your topic. When you get to the catalog, don't forget to sign in!
Sora
Follow this link or download the SoraApp to access the library's ebook collection. Sign in with Google.

Noodletools This link opens in a new window
NoodleTools is an online research management platform that helps you evaluate information, build accurate citations, archive source material, take notes, outline topics, and prepare to write. Sign in with Google.

Noodletools Help
This guide will answer all of your questions about how to use Noodletools.

This guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike license.

Contact me if you have suggestions for or questions about this guide!

Linda Hoiseth

High School Librarian

lhoiseth@asdubai.org

Twitter: @lhoiseth