ASD Libraries: Theater: World Theater Traditions

Assignment information

Assignment Details and Overview

Subscription Databases

Proquest This link opens in a new window
Proquest is a large, general-purpose subscription database. You should be able to find information on all of the world theatre traditions here.

A to Z Databases
This link will take you to all of the databases that the ASD libraries subscribe to. For login information, see the secure document below.
ASD Databases Login Information
You must be signed in to your ASD account to view these passwords.

Rakugo (Japan)

Rakugo
From the New World Encyclopedia
IJS/JASCO Event: Rakugo with Yanagiya Tōzaburō
From the East Asian Studies Center at The Ohio State University
Rakugo in English: An Interview With Shinoharu Tatekawa
From MATCHA, "Japan's Largest Inbound Tourism Platform Experience the Best of Japan"
Rakugo Script
Culture notes for the script

“Rakugo” (The Art of Storytelling)
From Nippon.com, a freely available, nonprofit website operated by the Nippon Communications Foundation.
Japan Times: Rackugo
This search of the Japan Times finds news articles that mention Rakugo.

Kecak (Indonesia)

Balinese Theatre by Rucina Ballinger, I Wayan Dibia and Made Sidia (PDF)
This is a valuable resource pack on Balinese theater provided by the International Schools Theatre Association.
Performing Kecak: A Balinese Dance Tradition Between Daily Routine and Creative Art (PDF)
A scholarly article on Kecak published by the International Council for Traditional Music.

Primate scream: Bali's monkey dance
From The Guardian

Gecko Theatre

Gecko Theatre
"Gecko is an award-winning and internationally-acclaimed physical theatre company, led by Artistic Director Amit Lahav."
OCR AS and A Level Drama and Theatre Topic Exploration Pack: Gecko Theatre Company (PDF)
"This resource has been created by Gecko Theatre Company and talks from their perspective as working practitioners in the field of Theatre."
Gecko Resource Pack from its founder (PDF)
This is a resource pack that provides answers to students' and teachers' questions about Gecko from its founder, Amit Lahav, and members of the company.
Gecko's YouTube Channel
Find several videos published by Gecko Theatre here.

Theater Links

Internet Public Library - Stagecraft / Technical Theatre
"This pathfinder is for people who are interested in the backstage aspects of theatre, whether it be building sets, designing scenery, lighting a show, doing make-up, building costumes, or affecting the mood of a scene through music. This guide is divided into online sources (websites, mailing lists, newsgroups) and print sources."

Books in the ASD Library

Kathakali Dance-Drama by Phillip Zarrilli
Call Number: 792 ZAR
ISBN: 9780415192828
Publication Date: 1999-12-10
"Kathakali Dance-Drama provides a comprehensive introduction to the distinctive and colourful dance-drama of Kerala in South-West India for the first time."
It includes four plays: The Flower of Good Fortune, The Killing of Kirmira, The Progeny of Krishna, an King Rugmamgada's Law.
Rakugo by Lorie Brau
Call Number: 895.6 BRA
ISBN: 9780739122464
Publication Date: 2008-02-15
"An introduction to the theatrical art of comic storytelling that originated in the Edo period."

Search for Books

Destiny Library Catalog
Look for library books related to your topic. When you get to the catalog, don't forget to sign in!
Sora
Follow this link or download the SoraApp to access the library's ebook collection. Sign in with Google.

Karagoz & Khayal Al Zill Shadow puppetry (Turkey & Egypt)

Karagoz Hacivat
A whole site about Karagoz Hacivat by Emin Şenyer, who gave Karagöz seminars, conferences and lectures at universities and various schools, played Karagöz in many cities of the country.
Egypt
A brief history of puppetry in Egypt from the World Encyclopedia of Puppetry Arts
Arab theatre
This is a brief intro Arab theater and related links from the al-bab blog site.
Arabic Shadow Theater
Puppetring is a puppet, shadow and marionette online magazine. This article provides images of puppets from Arabic theater.

Butoh (Japan)

An Introduction to Butoh by Mark Hill
This article by Mark Hill, an Australian performer/teacher specializing in physical theatre, provides an overview of Butoh.

Butoh Transformation Exercises (DOC) by Tanya Calamoneri
This article provides guidance to your workshop on Butoh dance.

Butoh
From: Asian Traditional Theatre and Dance ISBN 978-952-7218-23-5, published online by the Theatre Academy of the University of the Arts, Helsinki
Japan Times: Butoh
This search of the Japan Times finds articles about Butoh.

Frantic Assembly

Frantic Assembly
"From a reckless leap into the unknown 25 years ago, Frantic Assembly has developed into one of the UK's most successful and best loved theatre companies."
The Frantic Method
An intro to the Frantic Assembly method for its creators.

Frantic Assembly videos on Vimeo

Language Note

Please pay attention to the spelling of theater/theatre. Theater is American, theatre is British, but they are often used interchangeably. Google will likely give you results with both spellings. Some databases might require you to try both spellings.

You could get around that with a wildcard search: theat*

Noodletools

Noodletools This link opens in a new window
NoodleTools is an online research management platform that helps you evaluate information, build accurate citations, archive source material, take notes, outline topics, and prepare to write. Sign in with Google.

Noodletools Help
This guide will answer all of your questions about how to use Noodletools.

Noh (Japan)

Introduction (to Noh)
Here is a brief introduction to Noh dance/performance arts from the Japanese Arts Council.
Noh Theater
This is an overview on Noh from japan-guide.com, an online travel guide that publish current information of traveling in Japan.
Noh theatre
From Britannica.com.
Noh Drama
This article provides an intro, reading resources, and exercises on Noh drama from the Asia for Educators site by Weatherhead East Asian Institute at Columbia University.
Noh Theater (video)
This video provides an overview on Noh Theater.

Noh Plays
Links to Noh plays and their synopses.
Noh, Crystallised Aesthetics
From: Asian Traditional Theatre and Dance ISBN 978-952-7218-23-5, published online by the Theatre Academy of the University of the Arts, Helsinki

Japan Times: Noh
This search of the Japan Times finds articles about Noh.

Li-khe/Likay (Thailand)

Diverse national forms and traditions (Southeast Asian Arts)
From Britannica.com.
In-depth: performing arts of Thailand
From Insight Guides.

Likay “Folk Operetta”
From: Asian Traditional Theatre and Dance ISBN 978-952-7218-23-5, published online by the Theatre Academy of the University of the Arts, Helsinki

Trestle Theatre

Trestle
"Trestle is a mask and physical theatre company: our mission is to inspire creativity through participation and dialogue and we do this by approaching opportunities with an open mind, playful approach and our ever surprising and engaging masks."
OCR AS and A Level Drama and Theatre Topic Exploration Pack: Trestle Theatre Company (PDF)
This is a detailed topic exploration of the Trestle Theatre Company created to support the OCR AS and A Level Drama and Theatre curriculum.