Home - Health - Grade 10 - ASD Libraries at American School of Dubai

Fitness

Physical activity guidelines for children and young people
"Children and young people need to do 2 types of physical activity each week:: aerobic exercise and exercises to strengthen their muscles and bones."
Health for Teens: Exercise
"Health for Teens introduces a new and different way for young people aged 11-19 to learn about their health."
Physical Activity Guidelines for School-Aged Children and Adolescents
"Regular physical activity in children and adolescents promotes health and fitness."

Cardiovascular

Physical activity and exercise guidelines for all Australians
"Staying active regularly is essential for good physical and mental health and wellbeing. This is true no matter how young or old you are. But the amount of activity varies, depending on your age."
Strategies to prevent heart disease
"You can help prevent heart disease by following a heart-healthy lifestyle. Here are strategies to help you protect your heart."
Physical Activity and Your Heart
"Physical activity has many health benefits. These benefits apply to people of all ages, races and ethnicities, and sexes."

Muscular/Strength

Strength training: OK for kids?
"Don't confuse strength training with weightlifting, bodybuilding or powerlifting."
Resistance training for children and adolescents
"Proper RT programs have a plethora of associated benefits including increased strength, lower rates of sports-related injury, increased bone strength index (BSI), decreased risk of fracture and improved self-esteem and interest in fitness."

Use the search engines within these sites to find the information you are looking for.

Teens Health from Nemours
This site has trustworthy information on lots of different topics.
Medline Plus - Teen Health
This excellent site is sponsored by the National Institute of Health. Use the in-site search engine.
Tween and Teen Health - Mayo Clinic
This site is from a very reputable clinic in the United States. Follow the links near the bottom of the page, or use the search engine within the page to find excellent information on almost any medical or health issue.
Health for Teens
"Love your body, love yourself, #lovehealth"

Here’s How Many Hours Teens Should Sleep
"The need for sleep often takes a back seat for teens, but they need eight to 10 hours of sleep to stay mentally healthy, strengthen their brains and prevent injury."
Teenagers and sleep
"Chronic sleep deprivation can have dramatic effects on a teenager’s life, including affecting their mental wellbeing and reducing their academic performance at school."
Creating healthy teen sleep habits: a guide for parents of teenagers
"Sleep is such an important aspect of overall health and wellbeing – it’s a time where we can recharge the brain and reduce our mental load, but getting a good and restorative sleep isn’t always easy."
Teens + Sleep
"When was the last time you woke up feeling recharged and ready for the day?"
Sleep
"There are lots of reasons your sleep might be affected as you enter teenage years and young adulthood; from exam stress, change in routine and worries to differences in diet, leisure activities, and exercise."
7 Problems When You Don’t Get Enough Sleep
"Missing out on sleep during the night can really mess up your day!"
Parents are so wrong about teenage sleep and health
"Study upends common myths around melatonin, weekends, school start times."
Teen Sleep Hub
"Getting the support you need to achieve a good night’s sleep."
What To Know about Teens and Sleep
"Adopting good sleep habits is critical during this time in a teen’s life and important for their growth, health, and well-being."

These databases are likely to have information on your topic.

Britannica School
Britannica School is a general encyclopedia that's useful for all subjects. Choose your level: elementary, middle, or high.
Proquest
A large, multi-subject database. Citations export directly into Noodletools.
JSTOR
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. Citations export directly to Noodletools.
Opposing Viewpoints
Find overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of today's important social issues. Citations export directly into Noodletools.
Global Issues
Provides a global perspective, integrating news, global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics, and more. Citations export directly into Noodletools.
New York Times - School Pass
Use this link to set up your access to ASD's New York Times subscription.
New York Times
Once you've created your annual account, you can access the New York Times using this link.

A to Z Databases
This link will take you to all of the databases that the ASD libraries subscribe to. For login information, see the secure document below.
ASD Databases Login Information
You must be signed in to your ASD account to view these passwords.

Healthy Eating Plate
"Use the Healthy Eating Plate as a guide for creating healthy, balanced meals—whether served at the table or packed in a lunch box."
The guidelines
"The Australian dietary guidelines (the guidelines) provide up-to-date advice about the amount and kinds of foods that we need to eat for health and wellbeing. The recommendations are based on scientific evidence, developed after looking at good quality research."
Canada's Food Guide
"Eat a variety of healthy foods each day."
The Eatwell Guide
"The Eatwell Guide shows how much of what we eat overall should come from each food group to achieve a healthy, balanced diet."
Government Dietary Recommendations
"Government recommendations for energy and nutrients for males and females aged 1 –18 years and 19+ years."
My Fitness Pal
An app that allows you to track your food and nutrition.
Nutrition.gov
"Nutrition.gov serves as a gateway to reliable resources on food, healthy eating, physical activity and food safety."
Eat Right
This site is from the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics.
Food Data Central
From the USDA (US Department of Agriculture). "FoodData Central is an integrated data system that provides expanded nutrient profile data and links to related agricultural and experimental research." Use this to find nutritional data on all kinds of foods.
Dietary Guidelines for Americans
A collaboration between the USDA and HHS that is published every 5 years.

MackinVision Library Catalog
Look for library books related to your topic. When you get to the catalog, don't forget to sign in!
Sora eBooks & AudioBooks
Follow this link or download the SoraApp to access the library's ebook collection. Sign in with Google.
Sora Magazines
Follow this link or download the SoraApp to access the library's digital magazine collection. Sign in with Google.

This guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike license.

Contact me if you have suggestions for or questions about this guide!

Linda Hoiseth

High School Librarian

lhoiseth@asdubai.org

Twitter: @lhoiseth