ASD Libraries: Economics and Business: Home

ELAN Business Magazine

ELAN is a magazine that's made by business-passionate students from all over the world. You are encouraged to leave your email on the site so the publishers can send you more info in the future. Your comments are welcome.

ELAN Business Magazine Issue 1

Subscription Databases

A to Z Databases
This link will take you to all of the databases that the ASD libraries subscribe to. For login information, see the secure document below.
ASD Databases Login Information
You must be signed in to your ASD account to view these passwords.

These subscription sources will have economics articles.

New York Times - School Pass This link opens in a new window
Use this link to set up your access to ASD's New York Times subscription.
Financial Times - Create Account This link opens in a new window
Use this link to create your Financial Times account.
Proquest This link opens in a new window
A large, multi-subject database. Citations export directly into Noodletools.
CultureGrams This link opens in a new window
Reference resource for reliable cultural information on the countries of the world.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Find overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of today's important social issues. Citations export directly into Noodletools.
Global Issues This link opens in a new window
Provides a global perspective, integrating news, global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics, and more. Citations export directly into Noodletools.

Useful economics news websites

Google Hacks - country domains

Find websites that originate from different countries by including their country domain in your Google search.

For example, to find sites that originated in the UAE, add this to your search:

site:.ae

To find sites from the UAE government, add this to your search:

site:gov.ae

To find publications from the UAE government, add this to your search:

site:gov.ae .pdf

Internet country domains list
This site lists all countries' top level domains.
Refine Web Searches

Country Information Online

BBC - Country Profiles
Guides to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions. Also included are audio and video clips from BBC archives.
World Fact Book
Political, geographic, economic, and sociological summaries organized by country. Published by the CIA.
Library of Congress' Country Studies
Description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world from the US Library of Congress.
World Bank - Countries
The World Bank Group works in more than 170 countries, working with partners in the public and private sectors in their efforts to end poverty and tackle some of the most pressing development challenges.
World Data Atlas
World and regional statistics, national data, maps, rankings.
Population Pyramid
Look at a population pyramid for your country.
UN Human Development Data Center
"The human development data are sourced from international data agencies with the mandate, resources, and expertise to collect national data on specific indicators unless otherwise noted."

Business books in the ASD Library

The Culture Map by Erin Meyer
Call Number: 658 MEY
ISBN: 9781610392501
Publication Date: 2014
An international business expert helps you understand and navigate cultural differences in this insightful and practical guide, perfect for both your work and personal life.
Writing Winning Business Plans by Garrett Sutton
Call Number: 658.4 SUT
ISBN: 9781937832018
Publication Date: 2012
Reveals how to write an accessible and recognition-promoting business plan for any organization, discussing how new or established companies can benefit from an effectively executed business plan.
The Business Book by DK
Call Number: 650 BUS
ISBN: 9781465415851
Publication Date: 2014
A guide to business, management and commerce, covering inspirational business ideas, business strategy and alternative business models, with 100 key quotations introducing the work of great commercial thinkers, leaders and gurus from Henry Ford to Steve Jobs and to topics spanning from start-ups to ethics.

Open Access Economics and Statistics Databases

arXiv.org
Sponsored by Cornell University. arXiv is a free distribution service and an open-access archive for 1,669,910 scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics.
ECONBIZ
Journals, Working Papers & Conferences
in Business Studies and Economics
Federal Reserve - Economic Research and Data
"The Federal Reserve System is the central bank of the United States."

Gapminder This link opens in a new window
"Gapminder is an independent Swedish foundation with no political, religious or economic affiliations. Gapminder fights devastating misconceptions and promotes a fact-based worldview everyone can understand."

IMF Data
"Access to macroeconomic and financial data"
IMF eLibrary
"The International Monetary Fund's (IMF) eLibrary simplifies analysis and research with direct access to the IMF’s periodicals, books, working papers and studies, and data and statistical tools. You will find information and perspective on macroeconomics, globalization, development, trade and aid, technical assistance, demographics, emerging markets, policy advice, poverty reduction, and so much more."
NBER: National Bureau of Economic Research
"Conducting and disseminating non-partisan economic research"
OECD Data
"Find, compare and share the latest OECD data: charts, maps, tables and related publications …"
Treasury Direct (US)
"The reports section of the Government site contains all the reports by program area, and the detailed data on the public debt and interest reports."
Wiley Open Access Journals
"Wiley Open Access publishes authoritative peer reviewed open access journals across many research disciplines."
The World Bank - Data Catalog
"The Data Catalog is designed to make World Bank's development data easy to find, download, use, and share. It includes data from the World Bank's microdata, finances and energy data platforms, as well as datasets from the open data catalog…"
The World Bank - DataBank
"DataBank is an analysis and visualisation tool that contains collections of time series data on a variety of topics. You can create your own queries; generate tables, charts, and maps; and easily save, embed, and share them."
WTO Economic Research
"The WTO provides analysis and data on economic and trade policy issues, with the aim of deepening understanding about trends in trade and the multilateral trading system. This page provides access to WTO research, databases, publications, webinars and information on cooperation with other organizations."
UN Data
"The United Nations Commodity Trade Statistics Database (UN Comtrade) stores more than 1 billion trade data records from 1962. Over 140 reporter countries provide the United Nations Statistics Division with their annual international trade statistics detailed by commodities and partner countries. These data are subsequently transformed into the United Nations Statistics Division standard format with consistent coding and valuation using the UN/OECD CoprA internal processing system."
United Nations - Statistics Division
"The United Nations Statistics Division is committed to the advancement of the global statistical system. We compile and disseminate global statistical information, develop standards and norms for statistical activities, and support countries' efforts to strengthen their national statistical systems. We facilitate the coordination of international statistical activities and support the functioning of the United Nations Statistical Commission as the apex entity of the global statistical system."

International Trade

APEC - Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation
"The Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) is a regional economic forum established in 1989 to leverage the growing interdependence of the Asia-Pacific. APEC's 21 members aim to create greater prosperity for the people of the region by promoting balanced, inclusive, sustainable, innovative and secure growth and by accelerating regional economic integration."
Bank for International Settlement - BIS Statistics
"BIS statistics, compiled in cooperation with central banks and other national authorities, are designed to inform analysis of financial stability, international monetary spillovers and global liquidity."
E-Commerce Statistics (E-STATS)
"The U.S. Census Bureau's Internet site devoted exclusively to "Measuring the Electronic Economy." This site features recent and upcoming releases, information on methodology, and background papers."
Economic Policy Institute: Trade and Globalization
"The Economic Policy Institute (EPI) is a nonprofit, nonpartisan think tank created in 1986 to include the needs of low- and middle-income workers in economic policy discussions."
ILOSTAT - International Labour Organization
"The leading source of labour statistics."
Office of the United States Trade Representative
"The Office of the United States Trade Representative (USTR) is an agency of more than 200 committed professionals with decades of specialized experience in trade issues and regions of the world. We negotiate directly with foreign governments to create trade agreements, to resolve disputes, and to participate in global trade policy organizations."
Trading Economics
"Trading Economics provides its users with accurate information for 196 countries including historical data and forecasts for more than 20 million economic indicators, exchange rates, stock market indexes, government bond yields and commodity prices. Our data is based on official sources, not third party data providers, and our facts are regularly checked for inconsistencies."
more...less...
Look for information by country.
World Shipping Council
"We work to shape the future growth of a sustainable, safe, and secure shipping industry."
World Trade Organization
"The overall objective of the WTO is to help its members use trade as a means to raise living standards, create jobs and improve people’s lives. The WTO operates the global system of trade rules and helps developing countries build their trade capacity. It also provides a forum for its members to negotiate trade agreements and to resolve the trade problems they face with each other."

Economics books in the library

AP Microeconomics/Macroeconomics with 4 Practice Tests by Frank Musgrave; Elia Kacapyr; James Redelsheimer
Call Number: Ebook in Sora
ISBN: 9781506272184
Publication Date: 2021
Be prepared for exam day with Barron's.
Economics 101 by D. Mayer
Call Number: 330 MIL
ISBN: 9781440593406
Publication Date: 2016
Whether you're looking to master the major principles of finance, or just want to learn more about why money matters, Economics 101 has all the answers--even the ones you didn't know you were looking for.
Misbehaving by Richard H. Thaler
Call Number: 330.01 THA
ISBN: 9780393080940
Publication Date: 2015
"When economics meets psychology, the implications for individuals, managers, and policy makers are both profound and entertaining."

Search for Books

Destiny Library Catalog
Look for library books related to your topic. When you get to the catalog, don't forget to sign in!
Sora
Follow this link or download the SoraApp to access the library's ebook collection. Sign in with Google.

Crash Course Economics

Noodletools

Noodletools This link opens in a new window
NoodleTools is an online research management platform that helps you evaluate information, build accurate citations, archive source material, take notes, outline topics, and prepare to write. Sign in with Google.

Noodletools Help
This guide will answer all of your questions about how to use Noodletools.

Digital Magazines

These magazines are available through the Sora app. Look for back issues as well.

Sora Magazines
Follow this link or download the SoraApp to access the library's digital magazine collection. Sign in with Google.
Business and Finance Magazines
Find current and back issues of these business and finance magazines.
The Economist
Entrepreneur Magazine
Money Magazine
Kiplinger's Personal Finance

International Economics and Finance Organizations

International Monetary Fund (IMF)
"
The International Monetary Fund (IMF) is an organization of 190 countries, working to foster global monetary cooperation, secure financial stability, facilitate international trade, promote high employment and sustainable economic growth, and reduce poverty around the world."
The World Bank
"With 189 member countries, staff from more than 170 countries, and offices in over 130 locations, the World Bank Group is a unique global partnership: five institutions working for sustainable solutions that reduce poverty and build shared prosperity in developing countries."
FIRST Initiative
"The Financial Sector Reform and Strengthening Initiative, FIRST, is a multidonor grant facility that provides short- to medium-term technical assistance (TA) to promote sounder, more efficient, and inclusive financial systems. Since its inception in 2002, FIRST has funded over 600 projects in about 120 countries, with commitments over US$ 135 million."
Association of Southeast Asian Nations
"The Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) is a regional grouping that promotes economic, political, and security cooperation among its ten members: Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, and Vietnam."
OECD - Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development
"The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) is an international organisation that works to build better policies for better lives. Our goal is to shape policies that foster prosperity, equality, opportunity and well-being for all. We draw on 60 years of experience and insights to better prepare the world of tomorrow."

Create Citations

Noodletools This link opens in a new window
NoodleTools is an online research management platform that helps you evaluate information, build accurate citations, archive source material, take notes, outline topics, and prepare to write. Sign in with Google.

Purdue OWL
Use this for questions about your works cited.

Creative Commons License

This guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike license.

Libguide Creator

Contact me if you have suggestions for or questions about this guide!

Linda Hoiseth

High School Librarian

lhoiseth@asdubai.org

Twitter: @lhoiseth