ASD Libraries: Modern World History: Industrial Revolution

Suggested Subscription Databases

Britannica School This link opens in a new window
Britannica School is a general encyclopedia that's useful for all subjects. Choose your level: elementary, middle, or high.
Modern World History This link opens in a new window
Offers a comprehensive look at world history from the mid-15th century to the present. Citations export directly into Noodletools. Sign in with Google SSO.
CultureGrams This link opens in a new window
Reference resource for reliable cultural information on the countries of the world.
Credo Source This link opens in a new window
Credo Source is a one-stop research platform combining citable reference content with instructional videos and tutorials, as well as access to other subscription databases. Credo Source is a great starting point for research.
Proquest This link opens in a new window
A large, multi-subject database. Citations export directly into Noodletools.

A to Z Databases
This link will take you to all of the databases that the ASD libraries subscribe to. For login information, see the secure document below.
ASD Databases Login Information
You must be signed in to your ASD account to view these passwords.

Industrial Revolution by Carla Mooney; Jenn Vaughn (Illustrator)
Call Number: 330.9 MOO
ISBN: 9781936749942
Publication Date: 2011
This book introduces the dynamic individuals who led this revolution and how their innovations impacted the lives of everyone, rich and poor, city-dwellers and farmers alike. Sign in with Google to open it.

Library of Congress
Use the search engine within this site to look for primary resources.
Industrial Revolution Primary Sources
From the Library of Congress
Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History
Search by time period, topics, or key words.
Industrial Revolution links from Fordham University
Industrial Revolution primary sources
From the Iowa Department of Cultural Affairs

What was it like living in a late 19th century mining town?
From the National Archives
The Origins of the Industrial Revolution
From BBC Bitesize. Follow the links to subtopics related to your research.
Votes for Women collection
From the British Library
National Archives
Digitized primary sources from the UK.
British History Online
"British History Online is a collection of nearly 1300 volumes of primary and secondary content relating to British and Irish history, and histories of empire and the British world. BHO also provides access to 40,000 images and 10,000 tiles of historic maps of the British Isles."
History of the United Kingdom: Primary Documents

Times Machine
Search historical editions of the New York Times. You'll need to create your free library account (see the link below) to access them.

New York Times - School Pass This link opens in a new window
Use this link to set up your access to ASD's New York Times subscription.

Noodletools This link opens in a new window
NoodleTools is an online research management platform that helps you evaluate information, build accurate citations, archive source material, take notes, outline topics, and prepare to write. Sign in with Google.