ASD Libraries: Astrophysics: Big Bang Theory

Assignment Information

Britannica School This link opens in a new window
Britannica School is a general encyclopedia that's useful for all subjects. Choose your level: elementary, middle, or high.
BrainPOP This link opens in a new window
Over 1,000 short animated movies for students in grades K-12, together with quizzes and related materials, covering the subjects of science, social studies, English, math, engineering and technology, health, and arts and music.
SIRS Discoverer This link opens in a new window
A large general research database for all subjects.

For the print textbook:

Where is it? Print or in hand

What is it? book

Title: Earth & space sciences for NGSS

Publisher: Biozone

Year: 2022

------------------------------------------

For the ebook:

Where is it? Website

What is it? book

Paste in the ISBN and search: 978-1-951693-50-3

Choose the book and import.

ERASE THE CITY FIELD.

Destiny Library Catalog
Look for library books related to your topic. When you get to the catalog, don't forget to sign in!
Sora
Follow this link or download the SoraApp to access the library's ebook collection. Sign in with Google.

Proquest This link opens in a new window
A large, multi-subject database. Citations export directly into Noodletools.

A to Z Databases
This link will take you to all of the databases that the ASD libraries subscribe to. For login information, see the secure document below.
ASD Databases Login Information
You must be signed in to your ASD account to view these passwords.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. Citations export directly to Noodletools.

Packing for Mars: the Curious Science of Life in the Void by Mary Roach
Call Number: Sora
ISBN: 9780393079104
Publication Date: 2011
From the Space Shuttle training toilet to a crash test of NASA's new space capsule, Mary Roach takes us on the surreally entertaining trip into the science of life in space and space on Earth.

This slideshow was from the EMR project you did in physics. Feel free to refer to it revisit some of the things you learned about research:

Noodletools This link opens in a new window
NoodleTools is an online research management platform that helps you evaluate information, build accurate citations, archive source material, take notes, outline topics, and prepare to write. Sign in with Google.

Noodletools Help
This guide will answer all of your questions about how to use Noodletools.

Beall's List
This is a list of predatory publishers. If the site or journal you are searching for is on this list, it is probably not a reliable source.
Retraction Watch
Keep updated on scientific articles that have been retracted due to bad research.
Resurchify
Ranks the impact of journals
Scimago

A to Z Databases
This link will take you to all of the databases that the ASD libraries subscribe to. For login information, see the secure document below.
ASD Databases Login Information
You must be signed in to your ASD account to view these passwords.

New York Times - School Pass This link opens in a new window
Use this link to set up your access to ASD's New York Times subscription.

Explain That Stuff
Explain that Stuff is an online book written by science writer Chris Woodford. It includes over 400 easy-to-understand articles, richly illustrated with over 4000 photos, artworks, and animations, covering how things work, cutting-edge science, cool gadgets, and computers.

This guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike license.

Contact me if you have suggestions for or questions about this guide!

Linda Hoiseth

High School Librarian

lhoiseth@asdubai.org

Twitter: @lhoiseth