Skip to Main Content

AP Research : Home

Use this guide for your AP Research work.

Recommended Databases

A to Z Databases
This link will take you to all of the databases that the ASD libraries subscribe to. For login information, see the secure document below.
ASD Databases Login Information
You must be signed in to your ASD account to view these passwords.

Proquest This link opens in a new window
A large, multi-subject database. Citations export directly into Noodletools.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. Citations export directly to Noodletools.

EBSCO
Students will be able to access EBSCO once they connect to the AP Classroom through the class “Overview” page and it is linked under “Student Resources”.

New York Times - School Pass This link opens in a new window
Use this link to set up your access to ASD's New York Times subscription.

Search for Books

Destiny Library Catalog
Look for library books related to your topic. When you get to the catalog, don't forget to sign in!
Sora
Follow this link or download the SoraApp to access the library's ebook collection. Sign in with Google.

General Open-Access Databases

Academia.Edu
"Academia is a platform for sharing academic research." Create a free account with Google.
Core
"The world’s largest collection of open access research papers."
Digital Commons Network
"The Digital Commons Network brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide."
Directory of Open Access Journals
This "database contains over 16 500 peer-reviewed open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts and humanities."
Google Scholar
"Google Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines."
Intech Open
"The world's leading publisher of Open Access books."
NCBI
"The National Center for Biotechnology Information advances science and health by providing access to biomedical and genomic information."
Project Muse
"For nearly 30 years, Project MUSE has been the trusted and reliable source for access to essential humanities and social science research, as an integral part of the scholarly communications ecosystem and platform of choice for respected not-for-profit publishers."
ResearchGate
"ResearchGate is a European commercial social networking site for scientists and researchers to share papers, ask and answer questions, and find collaborators." Many studies are available free by contacting the authors through ResearchGate.
Scientific Research Publishing
"Scientific Research Publishing (SCIRP) is one of the largest Open Access journal publishers."
Semantic Scholar
"A free, AI-powered research tool for scientific literature."
Science Open
"ScienceOpen is a freely accessible search and discovery platform that puts research in context."

Library Lessons

Noodletools

Noodletools This link opens in a new window
NoodleTools is an online research management platform that helps you evaluate information, build accurate citations, archive source material, take notes, outline topics, and prepare to write. Sign in with Google.

Noodletools Help
This guide will answer all of your questions about how to use Noodletools.

References Resources and Managers

Using and Citing AI in Research
OWL Purdue
"The Online Writing Lab (the Purdue OWL) at Purdue University houses writing resources and instructional material."
MyBib
Citation Machine
Mendeley
Zotero

Assignment Information

Practice Annotated Bibliography - Entry Guide

Creative Commons License

This guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike license.

Libguide Creator

Contact me if you have suggestions for or questions about this guide!

Linda Hoiseth

High School Librarian

lhoiseth@asdubai.org

Twitter: @lhoiseth