ASD Libraries: Powerfit: Home

Subscription Databases

A to Z Databases
This link will take you to all of the databases that the ASD libraries subscribe to. For login information, see the secure document below.
ASD Databases Login Information
You must be signed in to your ASD account to view these passwords.

Britannica School This link opens in a new window
Britannica School is a general encyclopedia that's useful for all subjects. Choose your level: elementary, middle, or high.
Global Issues This link opens in a new window
Provides a global perspective, integrating news, global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics, and more. Citations export directly into Noodletools.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Find overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of today's important social issues. Citations export directly into Noodletools.
Proquest This link opens in a new window
This database will have scholarly articles for almost every subject.

Digital Magazines

These magazines are available through the Sora app. Look for back issues as well.

Sora Magazines
Follow this link or download the SoraApp to access the library's digital magazine collection. Sign in with Google.
Health and Fitness Magazines
These are all of the health and fitness magazines available on Sora. All magazines are available for multiple checkouts at the same time. (Sign in with your school's Gmail account.)
Women's Health
The Great Outdoors
Yoga Journal
Clean Eating

Websites about Sexual Health

Sex and You - Canada
Planned Parenthood
Sexual Health
From the CDC (Center for Disease Control and Prevention).
American Sexual Health Association
"The American Sexual Health Association (ASHA) empowers individuals, families, and communities to achieve sexually healthy lives through education and advocacy."

Search for Books

Destiny Library Catalog
Look for library books related to your topic. When you get to the catalog, don't forget to sign in!
Sora
Follow this link or download the SoraApp to access the library's ebook collection. Sign in with Google.

Websites for Choosing Topics

Well - from the New York Times

Recommended Websites for Health

Food and Drug Administration
Use the search engine within this site for a wide range of information.
Teens Health from Nemours
This site has trustworthy information on lots of different topics.
Medline Plus - Teen Health
This excellent site is sponsored by the National Institute of Health. Use the in-site search engine.
Tween and Teen Health - Mayo Clinic
This site is from a very reputable clinic in the United States. Follow the links near the bottom of the page, or use the search engine within the page to find excellent information on almost any medical or health issue.
New York Times
Use the search engine within this site to find NYT articles about your debate topic. You can create an account with your AES password.
Healthfinder
This is a health database sponsored by the US government.

Sports on Fire documentaries

"Sports On Fire is documentary series that will bring you the world's greatest athletes caught in the pivotal moments of modern history." From CBC Gem.

She Runs Like a Man
A look at everything you never knew about Gender testing, and the discrimination that intersex athletes endure for unintentionally disrupting the binary gender categories.
A Cold War
Canadian and Russian hockey players push themselves to the limits during the 1972 Summit Series, undeniably one of the greatest sports series of all time.
Born on the Bottle
A glance in the rearview mirror shows how bootlegging paved the way for the rise of NASCAR as whisky-running wheelmen became the first to compete in Southern stock car racing.
The Race for Race
During the 1936 Summer Olympics in Nazi Germany, a young African American athlete, Jesse Owens, displays remarkable talent and courage while competing for his country in front of Hitler.
Terrolympics
Ankie Spitzer recalls the tragic story of how her husband, André Spitzer, an Israeli Olympic fencing coach, was taken hostage and killed by terrorists at the Olympic games in Munich, 1972.
All the Rage
Athletes from all avenues of professional sport discuss the scandalous and hypocritical reality of performance enhancing drugs.

Library Lessons

Noodletools

Noodletools This link opens in a new window
NoodleTools is an online research management platform that helps you evaluate information, build accurate citations, archive source material, take notes, outline topics, and prepare to write. Sign in with Google.

Noodletools Help
This guide will answer all of your questions about how to use Noodletools.

Websites about Women's Health

A to Z Topics
From the Office of Women's Health website, sponsored by the US Department of Health and Human Services.
Women's Health
From the World Health Organization.
International Women's Health Coalition
"The International Women’s Health Coalition advances the sexual and reproductive health and rights of women and girls worldwide."
National Women's Health Network
"We are a network of activists supported by thousands of members focusing on women's health care access and equity."
Office of Research on Women's Health
From the National Institute of Health

Websites about Nutrition

My Fitness Pal
Nutrition.gov
"Nutrition.gov serves as a gateway to reliable resources on food, healthy eating, physical activity and food safety."
Eat Right
This site is from the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics.
Food Data Central
From the USDA (US Department of Agriculture). "FoodData Central is an integrated data system that provides expanded nutrient profile data and links to related agricultural and experimental research." Use this to find nutritional data on all kinds of foods.
Dietary Guidelines for Americans
A collaboration between the USDA and HHS that is published every 5 years.

Creative Commons License

This guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike license.

Libguide Creator

Contact me if you have suggestions for or questions about this guide!

Linda Hoiseth

High School Librarian

lhoiseth@asdubai.org

Twitter: @lhoiseth